Vikavolt SUM52 Strong Charge

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Mike Watters, Jun 5, 2017.

  1. Mike Watters

    Mike Watters New Member

    :confused: I am reading the Ability "Strong Charge" correctly on Vikavolt SUM52.

    "Once during your turn (before your attack), you may search your deck for a [G] Energy card and a [L] Energy card and attach them to your Pokémon in any way you like. Then, shuffle your deck."

    I interpret this as you have to pull both a Grass and a Lightning Energy and attach them any way you want.
    I have seen PTCGO and some streams from events where they were only pulling one or the other.

    Please post an official ruling on this.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, you can always fail a deck search for a particular type of card.
    Other than the number of cards, the game doesn't know what you have in your deck.
    Even if you actually have both of those cards, the game allows you to fail the search for one or the other, or even both.
    Even if you just used Super Rod to put some of them into your deck.

    Now if you are using an effect that allows you to get ANY card(s), such as the Supporter "Teammates", then you would have to get the cards, since the deck knows you have X number of cards in your deck.
     

Share This Page