Welder (SM - Unbroken Bonds 189/214, 214/214) and meaning of "up to"

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Otaku, May 10, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Otaku

    Otaku Active Member

    1) When I use Welder, can I opt to attach no [R] Energy from hand, or do I need to attach at least one?

    2) If zero does indeed count as an option for "up to" in this case, would that still satisfy the second clause and allow me to draw three cards?

    I believe the intent of the card is that I must attach at least one [R] Energy card from hand in order to use Welder at all and that I may only draw if I attached at least one [R] Energy from hand. However, there are other places where "up to" does include "zero", and given how significant a difference this could make to Welder's usage, decided to go ahead and ask.

    Thank you!
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    1. You can't play a card for no effect, so you can't play it if you don't attach at least one Energy.

    2. Moot
     
    Otaku likes this.

Share This Page