What is considered a correct cut?

Discussion in 'Judges' Chambers' started by vaporeon, Dec 9, 2016.

8 league13 468 60
  1. vaporeon

    vaporeon Moderator

    This isn't really a ruling but I want to know what is a correct cut. To me, its moving at least half the deck to the other end (a normal top to bottom cut) or taking the small pile, say 5 card piles and moving them from top to bottom but in a weekly tournament, I played against an opponent who would move only like the top 5 or 6 and move them to the bottom of the deck or toll the entire deck but 5 or 6 cards and moved it to the bottom. He told me he does that to "make the player draw bad cards" but when he wasn't getting the results he wanted, he would take the bottom 5 or 6 cards and put them at the top but move one to the bottom. To me, it seems like he is doing this for malicious reasons, since he is trying to force a player to dead draw.

    Now I know he has no way of knowing whether or not a player will draw dead or not but while he was doing this to me, I was getting annoyed but I'm not the type to rule shark a player. Not only is this something I would consider against the spirit of the game, but becoming flustered during a game because of something like this is can degrade the quality of a match. Since I try to keep my professor status on lock down and one day hope to judge events, I want to know how this should be handled if such a tactic is against the rules.

    Going back to my original question, what is considered a legal cut? Thanks!
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    A cut is taking one part of the deck from the top and moving that one part to the bottom.

    Taking multiple sections (more than one) and moving them to different locations turns it into a shuffle.
    They are allowed to shuffle your deck once after you have done so, but that gives you the opportunity to now have one final cut.
    So if they "take the bottom 5 or 6 cards and put them at the top but move one to the bottom" that has turned into a shuffle and you get to cut.
    They do NOT get to cut again after that.
  3. vaporeon

    vaporeon Moderator

    Thanks, I'll remember that for next time.

Share This Page