Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

What qualifies as "sufficiently randomizing" your deck?

Frost Mage

Shuffling seems like it's a pretty gray area as far as the rules go. I shuffle my deck 7 times, then randomly pile shuffle my deck before the game begins, then shuffle those piles together, then shuffle an additional 7 times. Of course, during games, because I shuffle quickly, I can hit the mathematically-sound 7 shuffles fairly easy after a search. But what happens if I'm playing with someone and I can see that their shuffling method is clearly not sufficient? Do I simply shuffle in addition to my cut of their deck after they search? Do I call a judge and potentially embarrass someone just because they don't have as much practice shuffling? Really interested in this topic when it comes to higher level events.

I am not a Judge. But I am a Professor, League Owner, Tournament Organizer, Player, and perhaps most importantly a PokéDad of a competitive Senior. With those credentials, I would challenge you broaden your mind and truly consider what is "sufficient" mid-game. (And I know some people may disagree with what I'm about to say. But this philosophy lets me not worry about it.)

If you were to take an ordered deck...for example either your deck list in order, or even a fresh pack of 52 playing cards. 7 shuffles would theoretically fully randomize it, correct? We agree on that. Indeed that is how a game should begin.

But mid-game, at any given time, the deck is already semi-random order. Or in other words, it is not in a prescribed order like the deck list or a fresh pack of cards. Mathematically speaking, 7 shuffles is overkill here. In my opinion, all that is needed is enough shuffling and a cut so that the top few cards are completely unknown. Because in the game of Pokémon TCG, only a few cards will be drawn until the next card effect has the player go back into the deck, and ultimately shuffle again.