Whimsicott-GX's Fluffy Cotton

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Fanboy, May 1, 2019.

  1. Fanboy

    Fanboy New Member

    If I use Dialga-GX's Shred attack to attack my opponent's Whimsicott-GX, does my opponent still flip a coin to see if the damage is prevented? Or does the Shred attack ignore all effects, including Whimsicott's Fluffy Cotton ability?
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    So, it's a question of timing. Shred will ignore effects that prevent damage from being placed.
    But if the damage is placed and them removed or altered after being placed, then that's too late for Shred to do anything about.
    So let's look up Whimsicott GX and see when it affects the damage done.
    Reading it, it says to flip a coin and if heads, "Prevent that damage".
    So that is being done before the damage is place.
    And therefore Shred gets to ignore it.
    Strictly speaking, the flip is still done, but it doesn't matter. The damage will get through.
     
    Otaku likes this.

Share This Page