Why, exactly, are we playing single-game?

Discussion in 'TCG News & Gossip Discussion' started by Scipio, Dec 11, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Scipio

Scipio New Member

I'll admit right of the bat that I am not a "veteran", or anything akin to that. I only started playing in November 2006. But I still feel I need to speak up about this, because it annoys me to death.

Over the 2006-2007 season, we have been playing Best-Of-Three in the Cities, States and Battle Roads here. This system wasn't played in America, I learned, and I wondered how you all held out there.

Now, however, we are FORCED to play Single Game here as well. And I can't see why this is forced upon us when it greatly reduces the level of skill and fun. I mean, single-game play allows for much greater "hax" luck, such as the famed Riolu donks, or T2 Blissey + Boost + double Pluspower on a lone starter. I've even seen stupid things like T2 Delcatty Ex Tail Whap, T2 Seadra vs Skitty and stupid stuff like that. Losing in such fashion is never fun, and you can argue you lost due to luck and still dont know if you can beat that opponent or not.

While in best-of-three, you had at least two games to prove you are up to the fight. Usually, the one who wins first would win the match, but I've seen enough turnabouts to prove my point. If in the finals I lose the first game due to a Riolu Donk, I don't mind as badly because I know I still got a chance to turn it all over.

Single Game Play only promoted "Donking Luck" decks. Decks that do not rely on skill but just donk the opponent and be done with it (MARIO). If you play best-of-three, the chances of those decks diminish and more skill is required.

So why is single-game play forced upon us? Anybody got a good argument for it?

2. BJJ763

BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

One factor is time. 5 rounds of swiss is 2.5 hours single game. Best 2/3 is 5 hours. Then 2 more hours of T4.