Wonder Guard vs. Evolved Babies?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Magnechu, Feb 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Magnechu

    Magnechu Active Member

    I don't think this question has been asked yet, ad I've looked in the Compendium so...
    Let's say I have an Elekid Sandstorm active and my opponent has a Shedinja Dragon active. I use Baby Evolution to evolve to Electabuzz Sandstorm. Would I be correct in thinking that Electabuzz could not attack Shedinja because it has been evolved? Or would it not matter because Buzz is still a "Basic Pokemon?" I would greatly appreciate an answer. Thanks!! :)
     
  2. Chrisbo

    Chrisbo Administrator

    It isn't under Shedinja's Wonder Guard, but it is covered under rulings for Baby Evolution:
    == BABY EVOLUTION (several - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. If I use "Baby Evolution" to evolve Pichu into Pikachu, or Wynaut into Wobbuffet, is the resulting Pokemon (Pikachu, Wobbuffet, etc.) considered an "Evolved Pokemon", or is it still considered as a "Basic Pokemon"?
    A. Any time you evolve a Pokemon into another stage, it is considered to be an "Evolved Pokemon", even if the words written on the card say "Basic". Alternatively, the quick and dirty way to figure this out is...is there a Pokemon underneath it? If yes, then it's evolved. (Jan 22, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    So in your example, the Electabuzz would not be able to touch Shedinja because the Electabuzz is considered to be evolved.

    Hope this helps,
    - CHRISBO
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page