Xatu SW Psychic Shift with no valid target

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Chairman Kaga, Dec 20, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Chairman Kaga

    Chairman Kaga Active Member

    Can Psychic Shift be used if the opponent has no place for the condition to go?

    For example:
    • Sidney's Stadium is in play
    • My Pokemon is Asleep/Confused/Paralyzed
    • The opponent's Active Pokemon is Dark type

    The question is whether Psychic Shift is atomic or not -- is it like Delcatty's Energy Draw (can't use Energy Draw with an empty deck, since it's known it will fail), or can you do the first part of Psychic Shift without being able to do the second?
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2007
  2. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    This question is similar to the rulings about DRE: You can move Double Rainbow Energy to a Basic Pokemon, and it will fall off.

    If you move a Special Condition from your Pokemon to the opponent's Active Pokemon, the Special Condition would fall off the new target.
     

Share This Page