Zangoose Ruling Required

Discussion in 'Trading Figure Game' started by Nintenfreak, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. Nintenfreak

    Nintenfreak New Member

    If I'm battling with Zangoose, spin once and get Sword's Dance, then spin again and get Dodge, what happens? Do I end the turn with nothing happening? Or does it do double of nothing, i.e. Zero damage?
     
  2. Luxatos

    Luxatos <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    It says "spin until you get a result other than Swords Dance," right? So if you spin Dodge, Dodge is the result.

    My apologies if I got the wording wrong; I don't have the figure in front of me. But that's the way I've interpreted it. Same goes for Eevee.
     
  3. Nintenfreak

    Nintenfreak New Member

    Yes, I know that. However, what I need to know is, do I dodge out of the way, or lose?
     
  4. Gibby

    Gibby New Member

    The way me and my friends interpreted that is just as Luxatos stated. You spin till you get anything other then Swords Dance. If that happens to be on Dodge, then that is what you do; you dodge out of the way. Basically, that just mean's nothing happens that turn.

    Remember, Dodge is a Blue color, meaning it beats everything else; but no damage is really done. So that is how we read into it.

    I hope that helps some.

    GG
     
  5. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    I don't agree. Zangoose is performing the attack Swords Dance. A figure cannot perform more than one attack in an attack phase. I believe Swords Dance does damage based on how many times you land on Swords Dance, right? So if you land on Dodge as your first spin, you stop spinning, count the number of times you landed on Swords Dance, and then do the damage accordingly. So the attack would do 0 if your first spin landed on Dodge.

    I might be wrong here, but I believe I am right.
     
  6. Gibby

    Gibby New Member

    From recollection, Swords Dance doesn't have a damage numerical number. It simply states "Spin until you get something other then Swords Dance. If that attack does damage, double it." Or something to that effect. I'm not quoting it correctly, but I'm sure that's right.

    GG

    [EDIT]
    blubapedia.com says that Zangoose's Swords Dance attack does the following:

    "Effect: Spin until you get a result other than Swords Dance. If that result does damage, double it."
    Quote

    So, going along with what I sated, you can land on Dodge. That's an attack that doesn't do damage, and thus you don't do anything. End of turn.

    Could you have been thinking about Doduo's Fury Attack, which does do 20 times the number of times you land on Fury Attack?
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2007
  7. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    I was probably thinking of attacks like Doduo's Fury Attack and Charizard's attack (I believe he has an attack like that too).

    Now that I can actually read what it says, I would say that the attack would do nothing (not even a dodge) because the attack you landed on doesn't do damage, and Swords Dance doesn't give you any information on what to do if you land on an attack that doesn't do damage.
     
  8. DukeFireBird

    DukeFireBird Gallery Administrator<br>Forum Moderator

    correct, attack results in a double of dodge, which is nothing
     
  9. ensignmerlin

    ensignmerlin New Member

    To my knowledge, it would just result in a normal dodge. Since dodge does no damage, then Sword Dance would have no effect at all and a normal dodge would take place.
     
  10. Luxatos

    Luxatos <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Is Swords Dance really an attack? Or just an effect that's on Zangoose if it happens to spin that?
     
  11. Jran Sakarra

    Jran Sakarra New Member

    IT is dodge then....
     
  12. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    Swords Dance is an attack. Dodge can be considered an attack, and so can Miss too if you really think about it.

    So if you land on Swords Dance, that is the attack you are doing. You spin again, and if it lands on Dodge, because it does no damage, you do 0 damage, and your attack is over. You don't dodge.

    "Effect: Spin until you get a result other than Swords Dance. If that result does damage, double it."

    It doesn't say to perform the attack it lands on. It just says, "if that result does damage, double it." If the result had any effect, like pushing pokemon back, you wouldn't get that effect. You would just check the damage on it. That is why the pokemon doesn't dodge. It just checks the damage, which is 0, then doubles it, which equals 0 still.

    So Zangoose does 0.
     
  13. hectagonman

    hectagonman New Member

    I'm almost completely positive that your wrong. I think it performs dodge. IMO it says that it will perform anything but double damage.
     
  14. Gibby

    Gibby New Member

    I agree with hectagonman. The effect says "If that result does damage", as though it's referring to the attacks that may not do damage as well. The "If" is acting like "You perform the new attack. But, if that attack has a damage value, double it."

    At least, that is how I read it. And from the games I've played, that is how I would rather have it done. I tried a few games the other way and it feels really broken and clunky.

    Gibby
     
  15. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    Okay, I can understand where you two are coming from. But the problem we run into is that Miss/Dodge/etc aren't truly attacks. So on a dial, there is a mixture of attacks and battle effects (miss/dodge). Swords Dance says to spin again until you get something other than Swords Dance. It doesn't say to actually perform that attack. That is why I feel all Swords Dance does is take the damage value and double it and apply it as the damage Swords Dance does.

    And if that logic is correct, then when you land on Dodge/Miss, because those two have no base damage, 0x2=0.

    But I don't see any point to debate this anymore. Both sides could easily be right. We need that PUI guy to come on here and give an official ruling. There are many questions that need official rulings.
     
  16. Mew

    Mew New Member

    Prime is right. Your first spin landing is the attack/effect you preform.
    If you land on SD, and then dodge, your swords dance doesn't do anything, and you don't dodge, because you were preforming swords dance.
     
  17. hectagonman

    hectagonman New Member

    How do you know that?
     
  18. Jran Sakarra

    Jran Sakarra New Member

    I do belive that if you land on sword dance that is a effect and not a attact...
    and dodge has no damage so it can't be doubled therefor you are left with dodge...
     
  19. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    Slightly tricky.

    Let's say it's Swords Dance vs. Purple...
    Purple beats White, do whatever Purple says. (Don't re-spin.)

    Let's say it's Swords Dance vs. White...Zangoose gets to spin.
    If Zangoose spins Dodge, that's what it gets as its result against the opponent.
    If Zangoose spins Scratch, Scratch does 40 instead of 20.
    If Zangoose spins Crush Claw, Crush Claw does 180 instead of 90.
    (If Zangoose spins Swords Dance, you spin until you get one of the above.)
     
  20. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    So in the case that the opponent spins white, and Zangoose spins Dodge (after spinning Swords Dance), Zangoose dodges?
     

Share This Page