View Full Version : Fossil Ditto is causing a problem
09/08/2003, 06:17 PM
Can you use boost energy on ditto if he is copying an evovled form?
Does the opponent get two prizes if they knock out Ditto while he is copying an EX card?
If ditto is battling pichu(NG) and it uses zap is ditto credited as having a pokemon power?
09/08/2003, 06:18 PM
1) Don't know what Boost Energy is or does...
3)Yes, Ditto always has its power, the card even says so.
09/08/2003, 06:31 PM
I agree with CaptainObvious, though you bring up a good point with boost energy. Off hand I'd say you could play Boost Energy on Ditto as long as it is opposite an evolved pokemon, though I could be wrong.
09/08/2003, 06:38 PM
Q. Can I attach Boost Energy to Ditto while it is copying an evolved Pokemon?
A. You can't. It is not "Evolved" and copying an evolved Pokemon doesn't make it one. (Jan 23, 2003 WotC Chat, Q663; Jan 30, 2003 WotC Chat, Q746)
Q. Both Pichu & Ditto are active. Pichu attacks with Zzzap and gets a heads. Does Ditto, copying Pichu take 20?
A. Yup. Transform says Ditto always has this power. (Jan 11, 2001 WotC Chat, Q120)
09/08/2003, 08:37 PM
And yes, Ditto gives two prizes if opposite an EX Pokemon, just like he gives no Prize if opposite a Mysterious Fossil.
09/10/2003, 07:07 AM
Basically, the only things Ditto doesn't copy are how much damage has been taken, any Special Conditions or attack effects the other Pokemon has on it, the ability to evolve, and anything that happens specifically because of the presence of another card. What Ditto does copy is HP, Weakness, Resistance, Retreat Cost, attacks, Pokemon Powers, and rules for whatever card he copies, i.e the Baby and ex rules.
09/10/2003, 07:15 AM
Another way to say, Ditto become exactly the same "CARD" as the opponent active, except:
1. It is always a basic Pokemon
2. It always has Pokemon power "Transform"
3. It can't evolve
4. It do not copy damage, special condition, and effects (e.g. effect from Sword Dance and Smokescreen)
09/10/2003, 07:47 AM
Well said. The final aspect of Ditto is that each "ball" of Energy attached to Ditto can become any one Energy type, (Dark, Fire, Fighting, Grass, Lightning, Psychic, Steel, Water) although obviously changing Energy to Dark or Steel doesn't add the extra effects. I don't know whether Energy attached to Ditto can be treated as Colorless or not. However, any special effects from the original Energy card remain. This is why Double Colorless works so well with Ditto -- it becomes kinda like a double Rainbow Energy without the penalties, and only one type per "ball" at a time. This was actually one of the points of confusion on some rulings, for example the interaction of Ditto, Double Colorless Energy, and Ecogym.
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.