View Full Version : Older Cards & Burn
League Leader Terry
09/12/2003, 09:06 PM
Before Burn was made a Special Condition, there were plenty of Pokemon Powers that said they couldn't be used if the Pokemon was Poisoned, Confused, Asleep, or Paralyzed. Should they be treated as if they say "can't be used if the Pokemon is effected by a Special Condition"?
Also, I remember an old Quilava that had an attack that gave out Char counters. Should Char counters be treated like Burn counters now?
09/12/2003, 09:07 PM
Yes, burn stops them too.
09/12/2003, 09:28 PM
But Char is not Burn. Char will remain if the Pokemon is Benched.
09/12/2003, 10:45 PM
Just to make sure there is no confusion...
Char is a "special counter" (a.k.a. special marker). Special counters had rules that were listed on the cards that invoked them. The only four cards that used special counters were Quilava (Neo Genesis), Smeargle (Classic Promo), Electrabuzz (Classic Promo), and Dark Ivysaur (Best Promo). While Electrabuzz and Dark Ivysaur's special counters really didn't do much with out the use of an attack, Quilava and Smeargle caused an almost pernament effect on that pokemon which only could be solved by evolution (or devolution). In Quilava's case, it had all of the rules of the burn condition for the Char counter, yet it could still be on if the pokemon went to the bench, if full heal was played, annoying huh? But Quilava follows the common "Play as stated" rule.
As for Burned, older cards (Base Set - Neo Destiny) their Pokemon Powers are considered to be rewritten as "This power stops working if [name of pokemon] is affected by Special Condition."
League Leader Terry
09/14/2003, 03:14 PM
OK, here's another similar question. Rocket's Moltres Pokemon Power says that it can't be used if it's Confused, Paralyzed, or Asleep. It doesn't mention Poison. Will Poison and Burn stop the Pokemon power now?
09/14/2003, 03:19 PM
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.