View Full Version : 2 on 2 Questions?
09/13/2003, 06:49 AM
Do you always have to have 2 pokemon in?
Can you have 5 pokemon on your bench, if you only put 1 pokemon in?
If you attack one pokemon out of the 2 do you have to attack it again next turn?
09/13/2003, 06:51 AM
I asked Jimmer this question at Gen-Con, and the rule book backs it up. In 2 vs. 2, if you can have 2 active pokemon, you must have 2 active pokemon. Your bench will never contain more than 4 pokemon, since an empty active slot must always be filled by one of your total possible 6 pokemon in play. As far as attacking is concerned, you may change the target of your attack each turn.
09/13/2003, 06:52 AM
*Yes, unless you don't have a second Pokemon at all.
*No, see above answer.
*No, you can switch attackers and/or targets each turn.
since this is 2v2 topic, how many cards should be in the deck. I know its a stupid question, but i've heard that it will be 40 card decks, then I heard 60 card decks. Now im confused.
09/13/2003, 03:36 PM
60, as before.
09/13/2003, 03:37 PM
Being side rules, rather an a full-fledged set, I'd say 60. That, and, for those who played Team Rocket style, even 60 cards seems a bit short at times.
Edit: OK, I'm probably completeyl wron gon the "side rules" thing, but that's what they feel like... Still, 60 seems right.
09/13/2003, 10:08 PM
It's really the same game, you just have two Active Pokémon instead of one! :)
09/14/2003, 03:00 AM
40 has always been the decksize for limited formats
60 has always been the decsize for constructed.
However there have been other training formats with different deck sizes. I don't remember how many cards PUI (the 'Nintendo' stand at Gencon) had in their decks
09/15/2003, 06:16 AM
What about Mysterious Fossil?
It says it becomes a pokemon once you play it to your bench, but does it still have to become one of your active pokemon?
09/15/2003, 06:46 AM
Treat it as a Pokemon. If it's your second Pokemon, it becomes an Active. If not, it goes to your bench, simple as that.
09/15/2003, 06:31 PM
If you play switch does that still go as retreating?
09/15/2003, 07:16 PM
If you play switch does that still go as retreating? No, regardless of whether it's 2 vs. 2 or 1 vs. 1, Switch does not count as retreating.
09/15/2003, 07:17 PM
Trainer cards like Switch that move the Active to the Bench are not the same as Retreating. Retreating is taking your Active and moving it to the Bench after paying the Retreat Cost (located in the lower right hand corner of the card).
09/16/2003, 11:05 AM
If you only start out with one pokemon and then draw one from your deck, does that mean you have to play it to your bench if you don't want to?
09/16/2003, 11:34 AM
No. But if you play it to your bench, it then gets promoted to the other Active spot.
League Leader Terry
09/16/2003, 06:32 PM
In other words, if you only have one Pokemon and draw another, you HAVE to play it in the other Active spot?
09/16/2003, 06:45 PM
No. Your options are to either keep it in your hand or make it Active.
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.