PDA

View Full Version : HGSS-on Sharplure

Darkrai EX
12/01/2011, 12:20 PM
So, let me preface this by saying I'm a total noob. I'm 17, I've never been to an actual competitive Pokemon TCG event or league games, but I love Pokemon. The manga, the video games, the cards. 'Bout a year ago I started buying cards for myself off amazon, building 'decks' of my favorite Pokemon and playing against relatives who, like me, had now idea how to play. I probably blew around $150 this way, and right now my finances are pretty low, but since I've started I've learned quite alot about the TCG. I'm becoming familiar with the most common deck archetypes, like Reshiboar, Megazone, Gothitelle variants, and especially Kyurem/Cobalion/Electrode. I've purchased one last bunch of cards before I get some more cash sometime mid-January, and with these I'm building a deck based around what I think is the most underrated Stage 2 out there: Chandelure.

You're all familiar with his :ppowr: Cursed Shadow, which lets you spread 3 Damage counters without even attacking, but I think everyone gives up on the card when they see the :psychic::psychic::colorless: required for his attack, Eerie Glow, which is in my opinion an outstanding attack paired with his :ppowr:. 50 damage is okay, but the real beauty of it is the Burn and Confusion Special Conditions it forces. I mean, these both depend on the flip of a coin, so they can't truly be counted on, but making your opponent count on getting heads to even attack seems quite worth it, not to mention the extra damage the conditions can inflict. By the time it's Chandelure's turn to attack again the Defending Pokemon could have 7 more damage counters on it. By then, if the Pokemon isn't already K-Oed, I can finish it off with with Chandelure's :ppowr: and attack the next Pokemon my opponent sends out to badly hurt his chances of even laying a hand on me.

So, here's the list, I'll explain my strategy a little then let you guys tear it to shreds: