PDA

View Full Version : Briney's Compassion+TVR



Tommy the Earthbender
08/11/2005, 08:55 AM
I have a question.

now that Mr. Briney's Compassion and TV Reporter are reprinted in POP2
can I use the exDragon versions in '06 Tournys and worlds


Someone answer

SomethingElse
08/11/2005, 08:59 AM
why couldn't you? They are the exact same cards

Rew
08/11/2005, 09:14 AM
When legendary came out could you use base set charizard?
Can You use Boost from AQ instead of DX?
Can you use TVR and Briney's when they come from POP2?


YES!!!!

Metal Master
08/11/2005, 11:51 AM
Yeah, POP 2 Briney, TVR, and Ivysaur are all lega for Worlds, because they are reprints.

SomethingElse
08/11/2005, 11:57 AM
(assuming POP2 is legal for worlds 06)

SomethingElse
08/11/2005, 11:58 AM
jermy, they could easily change the format for some reason before worlds, so there is no guarantee POP2 is legal for it

SomethingElse
08/11/2005, 12:01 PM
Until they announce that, the worlds format isn't set in stone

SomethingElse
08/11/2005, 12:02 PM
As set in stone as you living in Alaska? Oh wait, you don't...

kiwill
08/11/2005, 01:06 PM
could we use the base set Pikachu instead of the POP2 one ?

SteveP
08/11/2005, 01:22 PM
POP 2 is NOT legal for Worlds, that is, according to the Worlds FAQ I got from the Prof Cup.

So, I'd stay away from using the POP2 version of Briney and TVR. They "might" let you use them, but they could easily say you CAN'T use them.

SomethingElse
08/11/2005, 01:30 PM
steve, it was just ruled that you could, and this is for worlds 2006

Dom
08/11/2005, 01:32 PM
POP 2 is NOT legal for Worlds, that is, according to the Worlds FAQ I got from the Prof Cup.

So, I'd stay away from using the POP2 version of Briney and TVR. They "might" let you use them, but they could easily say you CAN'T use them.Its perfectly legal. They're just reprints, whether they are older versions or newer unreleased versions, doesn't make a difference. POP2 Brineys, TVR and Ivysaur can be used for this years Worlds.


now that Mr. Briney's Compassion and TV Reporter are reprinted in POP2
can I use the exDragon versions in '06 Tournys and worlds
Since those cards are in a legal set for the 2005-06 tournament season, you will be able to use them, and older versions as well, until POP2 is rotated out, whenever that may be.

POP2's probably gonna be legal for 06-07 as well, seeing as POP1 is legal for 05-06.

SteveP
08/11/2005, 02:06 PM
Its perfectly legal. They're just reprints, whether they are older versions or newer unreleased versions, doesn't make a difference. POP2 Brineys, TVR and Ivysaur can be used for this years Worlds.
WRONG!!

FYI, here's what the official rules state:

With the exception of basic Energy cards and previously printed cards that appear in Modified legal sets, players may not use cards from Pokémon sets prior to EX: Ruby & Sapphire. Players using previously printed cards that appear in Modified legal sets must play those cards using the wording of the most recent printing of the card. New sets are allowed as soon as the product has been released.
Trying to say to newly reprinted versions are the same as "previously printed" is wrong!

Also, look at the deck registration sheet for Worlds 2005. "P2" is NOT listed in the abbreviation section.

Listen, POP may allow us to use POP2 reprints of Modified cards, but until they do, DON'T assume they're legal (for Worlds 2005).

SomethingElse
08/11/2005, 02:15 PM
steve, read ATM, Liesik already said we could use TV Reporter/Briney/Ivysaur
edit: here's the link http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=22738

GymLeaderPhil
08/11/2005, 02:19 PM
You can use Mr. Briney's Compassion, TV Reporter, and the POP2 Ivysaur in your decks at the World Championships. This is official and has been confirmed, as they are in the current Modified expansions. I assure you that if you show up with these cards when I am (or any of the other staff members) deckchecking you, you will be able to keep them in your deck.

HOWEVER all of the other POP2 cards ARE NOT legal for Worlds. The official release date for these cards is 9/30/05.

SteveP
08/11/2005, 03:21 PM
Yup, that's what I'm saying here. It took an "official" comment from POP to make these POP2 cards legal for Worlds because the current rules and Worlds FAQ don't allow them.

That's all. Glad to hear this was cleared up.

Rew
08/11/2005, 09:52 PM
it has been setled you just haven't payed attention and arguing

ShadowTogetic
08/11/2005, 09:57 PM
isn't this thread for 2006 tourneys? including Worlds '06?