View Full Version : A Pichu question
11/17/2003, 10:34 PM
Me and My friend was playing and he had his pichu evolve using it's pokemon power and then used a rare candy to evolve onto Raichu EX. Is this legal?
11/18/2003, 06:32 AM
Yep. That's legal.
Don't have time to search for the ruling, but I'll post it shortly.
11/18/2003, 07:20 PM
Here's the quote for ya:
== RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)
Q. Can I use Rare Candy to evolve Pichu into Raichu EX?
A. No, Rare Candy states if you have a card that "Evolves From" your Pokemon. Pikachu does not say that it "Evolves From" Pichu, so Rare Candy will not work in this situation. (Sep 11, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)
11/18/2003, 08:06 PM
If a Pichu evolved into a Pikachu, you wouldn't be able to use Rare Candy to evolve into Raichu EX because Pikachu is no longer a "basic" pokemon, right? (See A Pichu Question for what I think is an error)
11/18/2003, 09:12 PM
11/18/2003, 09:34 PM
Chris,I think you misread his question.He has aready evolved his Pichu into Pikachu via Pichu`s Poke-Power and then trying to Rare Candy Pikachu into Raichu EX,not trying to rare candy from Pichu to Raichu EX as the ruling you quoted would suggest.
Mr.Grass may be correct in saying that you cannot do this since Pikachu is now considered an "evolved" Pokemon but something nags at the back of my mind thinking it was ruled that it was an "evolved" Basic and it may still count as a Basic in this instance.
This is definately a good subject to discuss and also ask to get a ruling for.
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.