View Full Version : ruling question
09/03/2003, 05:31 PM
I'm having a problem with the retreat ruling if I play switch or warp point does that count as my reteat for the turn or can I retreat again
09/03/2003, 05:44 PM
You can retreat after a Switch/Warp Point. Retreat means changing Pokemon without using a Trainer or Pokemon Power.
09/03/2003, 06:32 PM
More specifically, retreat means any method that involves paying the retreat cost and and does not use the term switch.
09/03/2003, 06:54 PM
Retreating is discarding the energy cost listed on the pokemon card in order to switch it with a benched pokemon. If the retreat cost is zero discarding zero energy cards to bench it and bring up a new pokemon still counts as retreating. The only real exception is when Balloon Berry is used. In that case you're discarding the berry instead of energy, but it's still retreating.
09/04/2003, 04:47 PM
thanx guys it was an issue(well nt really an issue) but it came up at my RS challenge
09/04/2003, 06:06 PM
told ya ;) :p
09/05/2003, 04:43 AM
Switching is totally different from retreating.
Well, that has been an issue that has been clarified many times, many ways and days..... :) !!!!!!!
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.