Results 1 to 1 of 1

Thread: Compendium Updates for November 17, 2011

  1. #1

    Compendium Updates for November 17, 2011

    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

    |
    |
    * November 10th, 2011 -- No New Rulings!! --
    * November 17th, 2011 TPCi Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --
    * BW03: Noble Victories FAQ --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5 xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    META-RULINGS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ABILITIES
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ANCIENT POWER (Archeops - BW:Noble Victories)

    Q. Does Archeops' "Ancient Power" Ability stop attacks that evolve Pokemon, such as Karrablast's "Mysterious Evolution"?
    A. Ancient Power only prevents you from playing Pokemon from your hand to evolve other Pokemon. Mysterious Evolution's effect is not stopped because it evolves the Pokemon from a card in the deck, not a card in your hand. (Noble Victories FAQ; Nov 17, 2011 TPCi Rules Team)


    ***Updated****
    Q. Does Rare Candy override evolution-preventing effects such as Archeops' "Ancient Power" Ability?
    A. Ancient Power does not allow you to use a Pokemon's attack or play a Trainer card to evolve your Benched or Active Pokemon, unless the Evolution card you would be putting into play comes from somewhere other than your hand. So Rare Candy cannot be used while Archeops' Ancient Power Ability is in effect. (Noble Victories FAQ; Nov 17, 2011 TPCi Rules Team; Nov 21, 2011 TPCi Rules Team)


    == DARK AURA (Hydreigon - BW:Noble Victories))

    Q. Does Hydreigon's "Dark Aura" Ability override the original type of attached energy, or is it in addition to the energy's original type?
    A. Dark Aura replaces the attached energy's original type or types with Darkness type. In other words, a Fire Energy card no longer provides fire energy when Dark Aura affects it. (Noble Victories FAQ; Nov 17, 2011 TPCi Rules Team)

    Q. What happens to Rainbow Energy when it's attached to Hydreigon? Does "Dark Aura" Ability change it to ONLY produce Darkness Energy rather than all energy types simultaneously?
    A. Since Dark Aura replaces the attached energy's original types with Darkness type, Rainbow Energy would lose its effect to produce all types of energy while Dark Aura is in effect. However, Rainbow Energy is still considered a "Special Energy Card" in this situation. (Noble Victories FAQ; Nov 17, 2011 TPCi Rules Team)


    == VICTORY STAR (Victini - BW:Noble Victories)

    Q. Can I use Victini's "Victory Star" ability to reflip just the tails flips from an attack?
    A. No. You must reflip all of the flips for an attack if you use Victory Star. (Noble Victories FAQ; Nov 17, 2011 TPCi Rules Team)

    Q. Can I use Victini's "Victory Star" ability to reflip the flips from a trainer such as Xtransceiver or ability like Carracosta's Solid Rock?
    A. No. Victory Star applies only to flips from attacks. (Noble Victories FAQ; Nov 17, 2011 TPCi Rules Team)

    Q. Can I use Victini's "Victory Star" ability to reflip for a failed Confusion check?
    A. No, Victory Star only applies to flips that are done as part of the attack. You cannot use it for checking status effects. (Noble Victories FAQ; Nov 17, 2011 TPCi Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == CHIP AWAY (Conkeldurr - BW:Noble Victories)

    Q. Does Conkeldurr's "Chip Away" attack ignore effects such as Weakness and Resistance?
    A. No, Weakness and Resistance are not considered effects; they are basic game mechanics and are not ignored by Chip Away. (Noble Victories FAQ; Nov 17, 2011 TPCi Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == EVIOLITE (BW:Noble Victories)

    Q. If Eviolite if attached to Zekrom, would its "Bolt Strike" attack do 40 or 20 damage to itself?
    A. Eviolite reduces any damage done to the Basic Pokemon by attacks from either player. So Bolt Strike's self-damage would also be reduced by -20. (Noble Victories FAQ; Nov 17, 2011 TPCi Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5 xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
    Last edited by Gym Leader Blaine; 12/06/2011 at 11:40 AM.
    Pikachu, Raichu was your father till he turned to the dark side and became Dark Raichu. So you see from a certain point a view your father is no longer alive.--GLB, explaining a ruling, by analogy

    "I'm Toby the Red Shirt, you need a Red Shirt guy."--Robot Chicken

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •