Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: When to take prize cards

  1. #1

    When to take prize cards

    I think my life is a lie. All this time, since Base set was released, I always thought that the action of taking prize cards happened in between turns. I understand that when you knock out a pokemon with an attack, you take prizes right then, likewise, if an effect like poison or burn kills it too, however the turn has ended.

    I have a new deck that I've built with Greninja and Kingdra, and usually every turn, I'll try to use the Water Shuriken ability.

    Water Shuriken: Once during your turn (before your attack), you may discard a Water Energy card from your hand. If you do, put 3 damage counters on 1 of your opponent's Pokémon.

    My question though - are prizes always taken in between turns? Or are they taken immediately after a Pokemon is knocked out? I've KO'd pokemon using Water Shuriken before announcing my attack on the new defending Pokemon, and during one game, I was about to take my prize mid turn for doing so, when I stopped myself, and just waited until the end of my turn to take the prize.

    Last edited by Xarsah16; 02/15/2014 at 08:35 PM. Reason: Please move to rules team board. sorry!!

  2. #2
    You take the Prize card(s) immediately after the Pokemon(s) is knocked out. If you ever played the Game Boy game for Pokemon TCG and you knocked out a Pokemon with the Legendary Zapdos card or with the Fossil Gengar's Curse Poke-Power, then the "take a Prize card" game action is activated then and there. Hope this helps. ;)
    The power of Light and Dark come to me as I was Jedi Jigglypuff. However, ever since my death in the past, I wanted revenge. So now, I am Darth Jigglypuff.

    Please join this site to play my newest modded game, Werewolf 4- The Night of the Cultwolf. Let Werewolf live on!

  3. This member says thanks for this post:

    Xarsah16 (02/16/2014)

  4. #3
    I have! It's been a really long time though. I also used an Articuno deck which spread benched damage on a coin flip to either my bench or the opponent's. It was so worth the risk at the time XD

    Also something I outta know since I'm studying to become a professor. :)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts