Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: FAQ for Sun and Moon

  1. #1
    Administrator PokePop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    34,185
    Images
    1097

    FAQ for Sun and Moon

    The FAQ for Sun and Moon has been released.
    We are less than 12 hours away from PRs being help, less if anyone is holding a Friday Night Prerelease.
    To make sure that it gets out to all the locations that are holding events and since it has been posted elsewhere on social media, here are the rulings for your convenience.

    Sun & Moon Expansion – FAQ

    GENERAL GAMEPLAY

    [*NOTE: This rule will be in effect at Prerelease tournaments. For official tournament play, the rule goes into effect when Sun & Moon becomes tournament legal, which is 2/17/2017 (in North America).]

    == SPECIAL CONDITIONS
    * The Burned special condition has changed from Sun & Moon and onward. Now when a Pokemon is Burned in between turns you first put two damage counters on that Pokemon then flip to see if the Burned condition is removed (heads) or if it remains (tails).


    POKEMON ABILITIES:

    == QUEENLY MAJESTY (Tsareena - SM:Sun & Moon)
    Q. When you use Tsareena's "Queenly Majesty" Ability, when the opponent reveals their hand do you get to choose which card to discard or is it random?
    A. You get to choose.

    == SEARCH THE PREMISES (Gumshoos GX - SM:Sun & Moon)
    Q. If I have multiple Gumshoos GX in play, can I use each of their "Search the Premises" Abilities or am I limited to only one total per turn?
    A. Each Gumshoos GX can use its own ability once per turn. So if you have two of them you can use the first Search the Premises to have your opponent reveal their hand, then use a Trainer card such as N to have the opponent shuffle their hand into their deck and draw new cards, and then use the second Search the Premises to have your opponent reveal their hand again.


    POKEMON ATTACKS:

    * ATTACKS IN GENERAL
    Q. Can I have Clefairy's "Metronome" copy a GX attack, and if so does it use up my "one GX attack per game"?
    A. Yes you can, and yes it does. Also if you’ve already used your GX attack for the game, then you cannot choose a GX attack with Metronome. (Jan 5, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

    == DRAGON'S WISH (Dragonair -Sun & Moon)
    Q. On the turn after using Dragonair's "Dragon's Wish" attack, when I attach any number of Energy cards from my hand do I have to attach them all at once, or can I attach them whenever I want during my turn?
    A. You do not have to attach them all at once. You can attach them from your hand whenever you like during the duration of your turn following Dragon's Wish.
    Q. If I use Dragonair's "Dragon's Wish" attack and then on the following turn evolve it to Dragonite, can I still attach the energies or not?
    A. Yes, absolutely! The Dragon's Wish effect resides on the player, not on the Pokemon.
    Rules Team Member / Member of Team Compendium - The Pokemon Rulings Compendium - Co-Owner of PokeGym.net
    Premiere Tournament Organizer
    Invited to Judge every US National Championship and World Championship
    Masters Head Judge TCG World Championship 2010 - Seniors Head Judge US Nationals 2009

  2. #2
    Administrator PokePop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    34,185
    Images
    1097
    Additional note:

    We should have also included the rulings for Eevee's Energy Evolution.
    That Ability CAN be used on either player's first turn.
    The "This counts as Evolving" note doesn't mean that it has to abide by all the rules in order to evolve.
    It means that once it has evolved, it does all the things that evolving does, such as removing Special Conditions and Attack Effects.
    Rules Team Member / Member of Team Compendium - The Pokemon Rulings Compendium - Co-Owner of PokeGym.net
    Premiere Tournament Organizer
    Invited to Judge every US National Championship and World Championship
    Masters Head Judge TCG World Championship 2010 - Seniors Head Judge US Nationals 2009

  3. #3
    GUERO51's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS
    Posts
    928
    Images
    14
    CAN the supporter card named pokemon ranger remove the effect of using a GX attack once per game?
    PROUD DAD OF JOSE (MASTER) & MIRANDA(MASTER)
    TEAM SAN ANTONIO "Quality players, not quantity!"
    Sale thread:http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=152434

  4. #4
    Administrator PokePop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    34,185
    Images
    1097
    No. That is a game rule, not an attack effect.
    Rules Team Member / Member of Team Compendium - The Pokemon Rulings Compendium - Co-Owner of PokeGym.net
    Premiere Tournament Organizer
    Invited to Judge every US National Championship and World Championship
    Masters Head Judge TCG World Championship 2010 - Seniors Head Judge US Nationals 2009

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •