Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Pyroar 20/106 Intimidating Mane vs EX/LevelX

  1. #1

    Pyroar 20/106 Intimidating Mane vs EX/LevelX

    Hi everyone I have a question I couldn't find the answer to. Probably my fault. My question is I have a Pyroar 20/106 (XY Flashfire) which has an ability called "Intimidating Mane" which reads "Prevent all damage done to this Pokémon by attacks from your opponent's basic Pokémon."

    Would something like a charizard ex be considered a basic Pokémon and would not be able to attack pyroar? Or is that considered an ex and not a basic? Would Rayquaza level X be considered a basic and would not be able to attack pyroar? Or is that considered a level x and not a basic?

    Thank you in advance for your help.
    Last edited by strifeX; 03/13/2017 at 08:44 PM. Reason: Typos

  2. #2
    Administrator PokePop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    New Jersey
    The Stage that a Pokemon card is considered to be in the TCG is the stage that is printed in the upper or lower left of the picture box.
    Stages in the TCG include: Basic, Stage 1, Stage 2, and also Baby, Mega, and Break.
    There is no stage called "EX".

    Punctuation and capitalization matter in this case.

    Charizard EX is a Basic.

    Charizard ex is a Stage 2

    Level X cards are a bit of a special case.
    They retain the Stage of the card that they leveled up from.
    So, in the case of Rayquaza Lv X, that would be a Basic since Rayquaza is a Basic.
    Rules Team Member / Member of Team Compendium - The Pokemon Rulings Compendium - Co-Owner of
    Premiere Tournament Organizer
    Invited to Judge every US National Championship and World Championship
    Masters Head Judge TCG World Championship 2010 - Seniors Head Judge US Nationals 2009

  3. This member says thanks for this post:

    Otaku (06/27/2017)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts