Results 1 to 1 of 1

Thread: Compendium Updates for August 3rd, 2017

Threaded View

  1. #1
    Compendium Publishing Assistant PKM4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    3,278
    Images
    25

    Compendium Updates for August 3rd, 2017

    Last edited: Thursday, August 3rd, 2017

    (Added August 3rd Rulings, and FAQ for SM: Burning Shadows)



    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5 xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8





    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:



    |

    |

    * July 13th, 2017 -- No New Rulings!! --

    * July 20th, 2017 -- No New Rulings!! --

    * July 27th, 2017 -- No New Rulings!! --

    * SM03: Burning Shadows FAQ --

    * August 3rd, 2017 TPCi Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --



    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5 xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8





    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ERRATA

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------





    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    META-RULINGS

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------





    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    POKEMON ABILITIES

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------



    == DARK INVITATION (Dusknoir - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. Can you use Dusknoir's "Dark Invitation" Ability if your opponent's Bench is full?

    A. No, you may not. It's public knowledge that you can't put down any additional Basic Pokemon on your opponent's Bench, so you cannot use the Ability. (Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == HEAL BLOCK (Lunatone - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I have a Solrock in play so that Lunatone's "Heal Block" ability is activated, does it apply to all Pokemon in play or just the two active Pokemon?

    A. It applies to all Pokemon in play. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)



    Q. Can I play "Acerola" to return a damaged Pokemon and all cards attached to it to my hand when Lunatone's "Heal Block" ability is activated?

    A. Yes, you can return the Pokemon and attached cards to your hand. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == INITIALIZE (Porygon-Z - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I put a Charizard GX in play using Ho Oh GX's "Eternal Flame GX" attack, and my opponent evolves into Porygon-Z and uses its "Initialize" Ability, does Charizard GX go back into my hand?

    A. No. Charizard GX is in play as an "unevolved Pokemon" and so is not affected by the Ability. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == MORE POISON (Seviper - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. Does Seviper's "More Poison" Ability stack if I have more than one of them in play?

    A. Yes, each of your Pokemon with a "More Poison" ability will add an additional damage counter to your opponent's Poisoned Pokemon in between turns. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)



    Q. Does Seviper's "More Poison" Ability stack with the effect of Toxapex GX's "Super Intense Poison" attack?

    A. Yes, you first put 10 damage counters for the Super Intense Poison attack and then you get to add 1 damage counter for each More Poison ability. (Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == MYSTIC HEART (Magearna EX - XY: Steam Siege)



    Q. If my opponent used Turtonator GX's "Shell Trap" attack and I have Magearna EX with the "Mystic Heart" Ability in play, will my Pokemon with Metal energy attached get the 8 damage counters from "Shell Trap" if I attack and do damage to Turtonator GX?

    A. No, it will not receive the 8 damage counters. Mystic Heart prevents all effects of your opponent's attacks, and Shell Trap's damage counters are an effect of your opponent's attack. (Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == RESTORATION (Darkrai-GX - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I have Darkrai-GX in my discard pile but no Darkness Energy, can I use its "Restoration" Ability?

    A. Yes, Restoration only requires that Darkrai-GX is in the discard pile (and that you have space on your Bench for it). (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == STANCE (Lucario - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If my Active Pokemon evolves into Lucario and uses its "Stance" Ability, does its effect get cleared if it moves to the Bench?

    A. No, its effect remains. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    POKEMON ATTACKS

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------



    == BUBBLE NET (Araquanid - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I use Araquanid's "Bubble Net" attack and my opponent switches in a new Active Pokemon, can they attach an Energy to it during their turn?

    A. Yes they can. The effect was on that specific Defending Pokemon and was removed when it went to the Bench. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == DUST STORM (Palossand - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I use Palossand's "Dust Storm" attack against a Stage 2 Pokemon, do I discard the Basic and Stage 1 cards attached to the Stage 2 Pokemon?

    A. No. The Basic and Stage 1 as well as the Sandygast are part of their respective Pokemon and are not discarded. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == ETERNAL FLAME GX (Ho-Oh-GX - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I use Ho-Oh GX's "Eternal Flame GX" attack, can I place a Stage 2 Pokemon like Charizard GX from my discard pile directly onto my Bench?

    A. Yes. The attack does not specify that the selected Pokemon have to be Basic Pokemon. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)



    Q. If I put a Charizard GX in play using Ho Oh GX's "Eternal Flame GX" attack, and my opponent evolves into Porygon-Z and uses its "Initialize" Ability, does Charizard GX go back into my hand?

    A. No. Charizard GX is in play as an "unevolved Pokemon" and so is not affected by the Ability. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == FIRST IMPRESSION (Golisopod-GX - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I move Wimpod to the Active position and then evolve it into Golisopod GX, would I get the bonus damage from "First Impression"?

    A. No. Wimpod is not the same Pokemon as Golisopod GX. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == SHELL TRAP (Turtonator GX - SM: Guardians Rising)



    Q. If my opponent used Turtonator GX's "Shell Trap" attack and I have Magearna EX with the "Mystic Heart" Ability in play, will my Pokemon with Metal energy attached get the 8 damage counters from "Shell Trap" if I attack and do damage to Turtonator GX?

    A. No, it will not receive the 8 damage counters. Mystic Heart prevents all effects of your opponent's attacks, and Shell Trap's damage counters are an effect of your opponent's attack. (Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == SMALL APPETITE (Eelektrik - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I use Eelektrik's "Small Appetite" attack against a Pokemon with 90 HP but it has the "Bodybuilding Dumbbells" Pokemon Tool attached, do I do 50 damage or 0?

    A. You do 0 damage. The HP from Bodybuilding Dumbbells counts toward the Pokemon's maximum HP, putting it out of range of the Small Appetite attack. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == SPARKLING WISH (Diancie - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. Can I use Diancie's "Sparkling Wish" attack to evolve a Pokemon that I just put into play this turn?

    A. Yes, you can do that. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == SUPER INTENSE POISON (Toxapex GX - SM: Guardians Rising)



    Q. Does Seviper's "More Poison" Ability stack with the effect of Toxapex GX's "Super Intense Poison" attack?

    A. Yes, you first put 10 damage counters for the Super Intense Poison attack and then you get to add 1 damage counter for each More Poison ability. (Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == SYNCHRONOISE (Bruxish - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I use Bruxish's "Synchronoise" attack against my opponent's dual type Pokemon like Volcanion EX, and there are other Volcanion EX on the Bench, do they take 40 damage or 20?

    A. They take 20 damage. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == TRI HAZARD-GX (Alolan Muk-GX - SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If my opponent has no Benched Pokemon, can I still use Alolan Muk-GX's "Tri Hazard-GX" attack?

    A. You can use it, but it won't have any effect, and it will count as having used your GX attack for the game. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    TRAINER CARDS

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------



    == ACEROLA (Sun & Moon—Burning Shadows)



    Q. Can I play "Acerola" to return a damaged Pokemon and all cards attached to it to my hand when Lunatone's "Heal Block" ability is activated?

    A. Yes, you can return the Pokemon and attached cards to your hand. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == BODYBUILDING DUMBBELLS (SM: Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I use Eelektrik's "Small Appetite" attack against a Pokemon with 90 HP but it has the "Bodybuilding Dumbbells" Pokemon Tool attached, do I do 50 damage or 0?

    A. You do 0 damage. The HP from Bodybuilding Dumbbells counts toward the Pokemon's maximum HP, putting it out of range of the Small Appetite attack. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    == CAPTIVATING POKE PUFF (XY: Steam Siege)



    Q. Can you play Captivating Poke Puff if your opponent's Bench is full?

    A. No. It’s public knowledge that you can’t put down any additional Basic Pokémon on your opponent’s Bench, so you cannot play the card. (Aug 11, 2016 TPCi Rules Team; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)



    ***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS BEEN OVERRULED; See Above *****

    Q. Can you play Captivating Poke Puff if your opponent's Bench is full?

    A. Yes, you can. Your opponent still reveals their hand, but you simply cannot put any Basic Pokemon onto your opponent's bench. (Aug 11, 2016 TPCi Rules Team)





    == GUZMA (Sun & Moon—Burning Shadows)



    Q. If I play "Guzma", who chooses which Pokemon to switch for each player?

    A. You make all of those choices. (Burning Shadows FAQ; Aug 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)





    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ENERGY CARDS

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------





    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    GENERAL GAMEPLAY

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------





    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5 xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

  2. This member says thanks for this post:

    FREAKAZOID175 (08/14/2017)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •