Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Plus Power Question

  1. #1

    Plus Power Question

    Question about Plus Power:

    Card Text:
    If the Pokemon PlusPower is attached to attacks, the attack does 10 more damage to the Active Pokemon (before applying resistance and weakness).

    Situation that occurred in League Play:
    Player A has Infernape in play with 1 Fire Energy attached and a PlusPower attached against Player B's Pokemon (doesn't really matter which one). Player A attacks with Meteor Punch (card text below).

    Infernape:
    Meteor Punch - 1 Colorless
    Flip a coin until you get tails. This attack does 30 damage times the number of heads.

    Question:
    So how much damage does does Player B's Pokemon take assuming there is no weakness/resistance or other Pokemon tools/effects impacting the outcoming if Player A flips a "tails" on the first coin flip?

    Possible ruling:
    According to the text of the PlusPower, the 10 more damage is dependant on the Pokemon "attacking" as compared to say Strength Charm (and I think Special Dark Energy) which says when "the attack does damage" (full text below). So thus, Inferape's Meteor Punch does 30x0 heads damage which is 0 damage. PlusPower adds 10 damage so the defending Pokemon should take 10 damage.

    Strength Charm:
    Whenever an attack from the Pokemon that Strength Charm is attached to does damage to the Active Pokemon, the attack does 10 more damage (before applying weakness and resistance)...

    I can see where the ruling may lump this in with Strength Charm though, even though their texts do state different dependencies (PlusPower on "attacking", Strength Charm on "causing damage").

    Assuming the former ruling was correct and PlusPower will do the extra 10 damage, where would this leave say Phanpy HP#75's Yawn Attack (1 colorless - Defending Pokemon is now asleep) which is a condition attack not a damage attack. Could you attach a PlusPower to Phanpy and have it do 10 damage plus put a pokemon to sleep? Referring back to the original Infernape at least Meteor Punch is attempting to do damage and does in fact inflict damage, albiet zero damage.

    Thanks for the clarification! Didn't see anything in the compendium on this.

    Regards,
    kevstoy
    Last edited by kevstoy; 08/03/2007 at 04:39 PM. Reason: Added Strength Charm text.

  2. #2
    Administrator PokePop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    33,072
    Images
    1093
    It might be in the older version of the Compendium.
    After all, Plus Power is a Base Set card!

    Anyway, damage has to be done before you can do "more" damage.
    If you flip tails or if the attack doesn't do any damage to begin with, you don't get to do the extra 10.
    Rules Team Member / Member of Team Compendium - The Pokemon Rulings Compendium - Co-Owner of PokeGym.net
    Premiere Tournament Organizer
    Invited to Judge every US National Championship and World Championship
    Masters Head Judge TCG World Championship 2010 - Seniors Head Judge US Nationals 2009

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •