Smokescreen and the order of an attack
So, I was studying the rulebook and the compendium, and I was trying to understand something. Let's say I have a Reshiram versus a Pokémon who used Smokescreen on Reshiram. Now, Reshiram tries to attack. The compendium says I should first discard the energies, then flip for Smokescreen. In this case, the discard should be the C step of the attack (Do anything the attack requires you to do to use it. For example, you must flip a coin if an attack says “Flip a coin. If tails, this attack does nothing.”).
However, let's say Garchomp C LV.X versus a Scizor Prime. Garchomp has a DCE attached to it. The compendium ruling says that you first choose the energy, then figure out the damage, then discard the energies. Obviously Scizor will not receive the damage, however, in this case, the discard should come after the damage, as part of the effect of the card.
So, in which step do I figure out the discard? C, or as part of the effect of the attack?