|11/04/2004, 08:56 AM||#1|
Does Damage - strength charm
Just trying to figure out what 'does damage' means....
consider a pokemon with a Strength Charm attached facing either the Odd Mr Mime or the Even Mr Mime.
So lets say the base damage is 40 prior to adding +10 from strength Charm.
Would an Evens Mr Mime prevent the 40 damage and thus provide no 'does damage' for the Strength Charm to add to?
Or alternatively would an Odd Mr Mime block the total 40+10 damage and thus require the +10 from Strength Charm to be ignored, which of course leads to a loop! Argh.
A way out of the loop would be to consider that 'does damage' is resolved without any reference to the defending pokemon but I'm not sure if that wouldn't lead to other problems.
Last edited by NoPoke; 11/04/2004 at 08:58 AM.
|11/04/2004, 09:12 AM||#2|
Ah I see its not under strength Charm
Last edited by NoPoke; 11/04/2004 at 09:13 AM.
|11/04/2004, 08:24 PM||#3|
Yup thats right, Mr. Mime's power blocks total damage deals, after applying effects to the damage. Just think, even if the evens Mr. Mime had a weakness, you would never be able to touch him with it, because all damage when doubled would be even and thus prevented.
Active Player, League Leader, Tournament Judge, and occasional organizer in the suburban Chicago Area.