Compendium Updates for November 2nd, 2017

Last edited: Thursday, November 2nd, 2017Last edited: Thursday, November 2nd, 2017
(Added November 2nd Rulings)

 

xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

 

 

This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

 

|
|
* September 28th, 2017 — No New Rulings!! —
* October 5th, 2017 — No New Rulings!! —
* October 12th, 2017 — No New Rulings!! —
* October 19th, 2017 — No New Rulings!! —
* October 26th, 2017 — No New Rulings!! —
* SM04: Crimson Invasion FAQ —
* November 2nd, 2017 TPCi Rules Team Meeting — (*) —

 

xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

 

———————————————————————-
ERRATA
———————————————————————-

 

 

———————————————————————-
META-RULINGS
———————————————————————-

 

 

———————————————————————-
POKEMON ABILITIES
———————————————————————-

 

== GNAWING CURSE (Gengar – SM: Crimson Invasion)

 

Q. If there are two Gengar in play with the “Gnawing Curse” Ability, how many damage counters would be applied if the opponent attached an energy card to one of their Pokemon?
A. They would place 4 damage counters on that Pokemon. (Crimson Invasion FAQ; Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

Q. What happens if I have Miltank with the “Moomoo Malt” Ability and my opponent has Gengar with the “Gnawing Curse” Ability in play?  Which Ability goes first?  Or does it even matter?
A. The player that owns the affected Pokemon gets to choose the order that the two simultaneous Abilities are applied.  However, keep in mind that you cannot go below zero damage done; for example, if you have 50 damage and you use Moomoo Malt first, you can’t “go negative” and then have Gnawing Curse’s counters simply disappear.  Also remember, if you choose Gnawing Curse first and the damage counters put the Pokemon over its maximum HP you still get to use Moomoo Malt before checking for KO’s. (Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

 

== MOOMOO MALT (Miltank – SM: Crimson Invasion)

 

Q. What happens if I have Miltank with the “Moomoo Malt” Ability and my opponent has Gengar with the “Gnawing Curse” Ability in play?  Which Ability goes first?  Or does it even matter?
A. The player that owns the affected Pokemon gets to choose the order that the two simultaneous Abilities are applied.  However, keep in mind that you cannot go below zero damage done; for example, if you have 50 damage and you use Moomoo Malt first, you can’t “go negative” and then have Gnawing Curse’s counters simply disappear.  Also remember, if you choose Gnawing Curse first and the damage counters put the Pokemon over its maximum HP you still get to use Moomoo Malt before checking for KO’s. (Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

 

———————————————————————-
POKEMON ATTACKS
———————————————————————-

 

== AMAZING PLEA (Cinccino – SM: Crimson Invasion)

 

Q. If Cinccino uses “Amazing Plea” and there are zero cards in the discard pile, do I automatically do 80 damage?  Or what if I only have one card in the discard pile?
A. The answer is the same regardless of the number of cards in the discard pile. Your opponent decides whether you take the cards (even if it’s 0) or do 80 damage. (Crimson Invasion FAQ; Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

 

== DRACO MELODY (Altaria – SM: Crimson Invasion)

 

Q. Can I use Altaria’s “Draco Melody” attack to place a Stage 1 or Stage 2 Dragon type Pokemon directly onto my Bench?
A. Yes, you can. Per the attack, you are not limited to Basic Pokemon. (Crimson Invasion FAQ; Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

 

== FORCEFUL TACKLE (Mamoswine – SM: Crimson Invasion)

 

Q. When using Mamoswine’s “Forceful Tackle” attack, can I put enough damage counters on Mamoswine to knock it out? In other words, can I put more damage counters on it than it has HP remaining?
A. Yes, you can put up to 9 damage counters on it even if it doesn’t have that much HP remaining. The extra damage will be done, and at the end of the attack Mamoswine will be knocked out. (Crimson Invasion FAQ; Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

 

== HUNT (Cacturne – SM: Crimson Invasion)

 

Q. If the opponent has no Benched Pokemon and Cacturne uses “Hunt”, does it do 40 damage?
A. No. The damage is only done if a new Active Pokemon is brought up from the Bench. (Crimson Invasion FAQ; Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

 

== PUMPKIN BOMB (Gourgeist – SM:Crimson Invasion)

 

Q. Gourgeist’s “Pumpkin Bomb” attack says to “discard any number of Pokemon Tool cards from your Pokemon”, but can I choose a different Pokemon other than Gourgeist for this attack?
A. The term “Pokemon” in the attack is plural, so you can choose any or all of your Pokemon and discard as many Tool cards as you like from them. (Crimson Invasion FAQ; Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

 

== SYMBIONT GX (Nihilego GX – SM:Crimson Invasion)

 

Q. When using Nihilego GX’s “Symbiont GX” attack, can you place more prizes than your opponent started the game with?
A. Yes, you can. The prize pile is not limited to any maximum amount. (Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

Q. In a single-elimination match that goes to time and is tied during the final game, if I add prizes to my opponent’s field with Nihilego GX’s “Symbiont GX” attack on my turn, do I win?
A. Yes. After regulation time (plus any additional turns) is completed, once you have fewer prizes remaining than your opponent, you win. (Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

Q. In a Sudden Death game, if I add prizes to my opponent’s field with Nihilego GX’s “Symbiont GX” attack, is the game won by the next player to take a prize, or the first player to take their last prize?
A. A Sudden Death match is complete when a player has taken all of their prizes, regardless of whether there is more than one or not. So adding prizes in this scenario makes it more difficult for the opponent to win. (Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

 

———————————————————————-
TRAINER CARDS
———————————————————————-

 

== PEEKING RED CARD (SM:Crimson Invasion)

 

Q. I’m confused by the text on Peeking Red Card.  After the opponent shuffles their hand into their deck, who gets to draw that many cards, the opponent or me?
A. The opponent gets to draw that many cards. (Crimson Invasion FAQ; Nov 2, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

 

 

———————————————————————-
ENERGY CARDS
———————————————————————-

 

 

———————————————————————-
GENERAL GAMEPLAY
———————————————————————-

 

 

xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

Author: PKM4

Judging Credentials include:

Worlds: 2014 - Seniors; 2015 - Masters; 2016 - HJ Seniors; 2017 - Masters; 2017 - Seniors HJ (Anaheim Open)

Internationals: 2017 - NAIC Masters; 2017 EUIC Masters

Nationals: 2011 - Masters; 2014 - Masters; 2015 - HJ Masters; 2016 - 2nd Juniors

Regionals: 2007-2017 (HJ All Divisions)

States: 2007-2015 (HJ All Divisions)


Player Credentials include:

T4 Regional Championships

T8 State Championships

4 City Championships

15 Battle Road Championships

2 League Challenge Championships


Interests: Pokemon, Marvel, Funko, Disney Pins, Tennis, Soccer, WWE, Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, and DC.