my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Dark Counter

   
Author Topic: Dark Counter
MrGrass

Member # 166



posted November 19, 2002 08:22 PM      Profile for MrGrass   Email MrGrass    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
The Umbreon never played topic got me thinking. I looked in the Compendium, but couldn't find anything conclusive. Would Darkness Energy boost damage from Rocket's Hitmonchan's Crosscounter and Wobbuffet's Counter?
I've got mixed feelings on the subject. According to the compendium, counter attacks aren't actual attacks, and so they get around the Baby Rule and Focus Band. But, it also says:

Q. During your opponent's turn, if you used Counter, Crosscounter, etc. do you follow every step in the attack phase (Including relevant trainers, other powers, confusion checks, etc.)? This is to clarify debate over these types of attacks.
A. If it is an attack, you must go through the sequence. If it just does damage, you do not. (Jun 14, 2001 WotC Chat, Q83)

This makes me think that the Darkness would boost the damage, but I want to get some other opinions.

--------------------
"They possess armor that explodes on impact." He-Man action figure commercial

"This is so good it just has to be fattening." Stewy from The Family Guy

AIM: SpectreX0
Yahoo: Shiny_Psyduck

From: A WOTC Store in Pennsylvania | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Onix95

Member # 103241



posted November 19, 2002 11:53 PM      Profile for Onix95      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
If they say its not an actual attack, then Darkness shouldn't add to the attack, and going with the other steps:

Damage done from one Pokemon to another gets Weakness and Resistance applied unless stated that it is not (even in Pokemon Powers), I believe this is a rule that has been stated already.

Defender is applied only when a Pokemon is damaged by an attack, which I assume means an actual attack, so I doubt it protects against counter type attacks.

Metal Energy protects against any type of damage done to a Pokemon, so that's out of the way.

In a nut shell, anything that affects damage from ATTACKS do not apply to counter type attacks, but if there are any official rulings, by all means, let them be known.

From: Honolulu, Hawaii | Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity