my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Mysterious Fossil Question!

   
Author Topic: Mysterious Fossil Question!
Extreme Espeon
Member
Member # 38528



posted October 24, 2002 10:35 AM      Profile for Extreme Espeon      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
With all of the Kabutops flying around and people starting to use Mysterious Fossil I decided to use some myself. My quesiton though is what happens if a Focus Band is put on a Mysterious Fossil and it gets attacked by your opponent? Shouldn't it live (if I get heads on Focus Band) since Focus Band leaves it with ten hp remaining thus leaving it with no damage counters or has there been some ruling about this situation! Thanks for the help!

--------------------
The Evolution of Steelix:
My many Steelix deck versions:
Electro-Crush (Rockets Zapdos)
Steel-Slash (Rocket's Scyther)
Steelix's Memory (Neo 3 Aerodactyl)
Whirpool Crush (Umbreon, Dark Vaporeon)
Crush Down (Arcanine)
Kabulix (Kabutops)
Steeleon (Espeon, holo Discovery)

And maybe more to come!

New Project: Swap n' Memory Raging (Aerodactyl [Revelation], Alakazam [Base/LC])

Espeon is 1!

Registered: Aug 2001  |  IP: Logged
MrGrass

Member # 166



posted October 24, 2002 11:55 AM      Profile for MrGrass   Email MrGrass    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
That sounds about right to me. You'd put damage counters on until it has 10 HP left. So you stop at zero.

--------------------
"They possess armor that explodes on impact." He-Man action figure commercial

"This is so good it just has to be fattening." Stewy from The Family Guy

AIM: SpectreX0
Yahoo: Shiny_Psyduck

From: A WOTC Store in Pennsylvania | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted October 24, 2002 05:14 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
However, doesn't it not count as a knocked out Pokemon? Just making a counter-argument.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Onix95

Member # 103241



posted October 24, 2002 06:23 PM      Profile for Onix95      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Mysterious Fossil gets Knocked out if it has 10 damage, its just that it won't count for anything, right? [Dubious]
From: Honolulu, Hawaii | Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged
LuckyCal

Member # 2435



posted October 24, 2002 06:35 PM      Profile for LuckyCal   Email LuckyCal    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Hmm... interesting. Looking at the text from the cards, it almost could go either way. It's this text that causes the problem:

quote:
While in play, Mysterious Fossil counts as a Pokémon (instead of a Trainer card). ... If Mysterious Fossil is Knocked Out, it doesn't count as a Knocked Out Pokémon. (Discard it anyway.)
Which means that when it's Knocked Out, it isn't a Pokémon. Looking at Focus Band now:

quote:
If the Pokémon Focus Band is attached to would be Knocked Out by your opponent's attack, flip a coin. If heads, that Pokémon is not Knocked Out and its remaining HP become 10 instead. Then, discard Focus Band.
Until Mysterious Fossil is actually Knocked Out, it still counts as a Pokémon. Focus Band triggers before its Pokémon is Knocked Out. So, Mysterious Fossil still is a Pokémon when Focus Band triggers.

[ October 24, 2002, 06:36 PM: Message edited by: LuckyCal ]

--------------------
He's always ready, he's always set, he's always well prepared. He's the most peculiar man you'd care to meet. -- Barenaked Ladies (The King Of Bedside Manor)

I know, but I still believe in ignorance as my best defense. -- Matchbox Twenty (Argue)

Have you seen Ajax?

From: Springfield, USA | Registered: Mar 2001  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted October 25, 2002 07:52 AM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Indeed, it could go either way-but it'll probably save it (ask it in chat though, as it will happen sooner or later). It's just another example of the conflicts caused by some of the older game text (although these problems are not limited be any means to older cards). Mysterious Fossil, oddly enough, must be knocked out in order to not be a knocked out Pokemon, but because it must be knocked out first, Focus Band activates (again, just my opinion-an official ruling would be nice).

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
IPGeek21

Member # 184



posted October 25, 2002 08:55 AM      Profile for IPGeek21   Email IPGeek21    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Mysterious Fossils HATE Magbies...

I have played it as such... Put a MF in play with a focus & energy. Have a Magby Sputter for 10 and I flip for the focus band... YEP no damage on the MF, my Focus goes away...

NEXT turn hopefully Breeder to Kabutops.

Pokemon? Game logic? eeeeeewwww, hope it won't be overturned...

[ October 25, 2002, 08:58 AM: Message edited by: IPGeek21 ]

--------------------
Drafts bring out the BEST of the WORST cards in Pokemon
*TC Member/WizpogMOD_Squad/Master_Prof*
+GodFather to an Angel:RIP-Paloma Geronimo
-=-=-=-=-=-
TheCompendium
Team Random
Proud bro of SSJ3DVP11
ipgeek21.com
SHUT UP & DO something about it

From: The here, BUT WHERE shall we go? | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
PokePop

Member # 8



posted October 25, 2002 10:49 AM      Profile for PokePop   Email PokePop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I don't know why Yoshi thinks this is questionable.
It seems clear to me that a successful flip on a Focus Band would leave the MF intact.

--------------------
"This kind of makes you miss the compendium..." - Martin Moreno

The Compendium: http://pkcompendium.hypermart.net

Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Extreme Espeon
Member
Member # 38528



posted October 25, 2002 06:10 PM      Profile for Extreme Espeon      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Thanks for the clarification! I had a situation where my opponent said the Fossil wouldn't get a Focus Band flip. Unfortunately I didn't know at the time so I lost that fossil (I can't remember whether or not I had lost the round though) Thanks again!

--------------------
The Evolution of Steelix:
My many Steelix deck versions:
Electro-Crush (Rockets Zapdos)
Steel-Slash (Rocket's Scyther)
Steelix's Memory (Neo 3 Aerodactyl)
Whirpool Crush (Umbreon, Dark Vaporeon)
Crush Down (Arcanine)
Kabulix (Kabutops)
Steeleon (Espeon, holo Discovery)

And maybe more to come!

New Project: Swap n' Memory Raging (Aerodactyl [Revelation], Alakazam [Base/LC])

Espeon is 1!

Registered: Aug 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity