my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Neo R Parasect & Rocket's Moltres

   
Author Topic: Neo R Parasect & Rocket's Moltres
John Kulp
Member
Member # 64111



posted November 19, 2002 01:24 PM      Profile for John Kulp   Email John Kulp    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I recently built a deck involving these two. My question is would Parasect's Allergic Pollen cancel out R Moltres's Rebirth? The thought being that the Rebirth power is taking Moltres out of the discard pile after the KO which the Parasect couldn't let you do that. At least that is what I believe I was just wondering,thanks.

[ November 19, 2002, 01:28 PM: Message edited by: John Kulp ]

--------------------
"And how dare they act like we're criminals? They should welcome Team Rocket."
-James(Epi 2)

"May the death of the world be upon each and every one of you."
-Ezekial Rage

"Ah,excellent! Feel the rage!"
-Professor Nanba(Epi 224)

From: Pittsburgh,PA | Registered: Feb 2002  |  IP: Logged
Prime
Member
Member # 102940



posted November 19, 2002 02:01 PM      Profile for Prime   Email Prime    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
"As long as Parasect is in play, cards in any player's discard piles are not affected by attacks or Pokemon Powers."

"When Rocket's Moltres is Knocked Out, you may return it to your hand after discarding it."

Ok hmm, I would say because it is a pokemon power and it does involve a card in a player's discard pile, no you couldn't put him back in your hand. But until there is an official ruling, nobody judgement is correct.

--------------------
"Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

From: Asheville, North Carolina | Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged
PokePop

Member # 8



posted November 19, 2002 06:10 PM      Profile for PokePop   Email PokePop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I don't know. Look at Entei's Howl. they ruled that those [Red Mana] cards can come out of the discard.
Needs to be asked at chat.

--------------------
"This kind of makes you miss the compendium..." - Martin Moreno

The Compendium: http://pkcompendium.hypermart.net

Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
John Kulp
Member
Member # 64111



posted November 19, 2002 08:12 PM      Profile for John Kulp   Email John Kulp    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Until I figure out this whole chat schematics(which I've never done before). If anyone wants to ask in the chats go right ahead,all I ask is post it here with the answer,thanks. I apologize if this sounds stupid(for lack of a better word).

[ November 19, 2002, 08:42 PM: Message edited by: John Kulp ]

--------------------
"And how dare they act like we're criminals? They should welcome Team Rocket."
-James(Epi 2)

"May the death of the world be upon each and every one of you."
-Ezekial Rage

"Ah,excellent! Feel the rage!"
-Professor Nanba(Epi 224)

From: Pittsburgh,PA | Registered: Feb 2002  |  IP: Logged
DOMCGI

Member # 20344



posted November 20, 2002 07:25 AM      Profile for DOMCGI      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
It is trickly.

The text on "Rebirth" has ".... after discarding it". So the pokemon power should only activated after the card hit the discard pile and Parasect should prevent this happen.

But after the Entei's Howl leason, we learn that we have to know the "intend" of the card. "Intend" can mean something different than the text written. "Intend" can only be provided by WOTC/TPC.

Before we get anything from WOTC/TPC, if I am a judge, I will rule as text written that Rebirth will not bring back Rocket's Moltres from the discard pile.

[ November 20, 2002, 07:26 AM: Message edited by: DOMCGI ]

--------------------
An Old Pokemon Trading Card Game Player.

Pokemon Professor: Score of 40/50

From: Toronto, Canada | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged
SteveP

Member # 14743


posted November 20, 2002 08:50 AM      Profile for SteveP   Email SteveP    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
IMO, this is very similiar to Parasect's power and how it affects Recycle Energy. I'd say that Allergic Pollen stops the recycle effect. Likewise, Allergic Pollen should also stop Rebirth. But, since there's no official ruling on Allergic Pollen and Recycle Energy, this is just my opinion.

--------------------
Proud member of Team PokéParents - we play Pokémon with our kids!

From: Colorado Springs, CO, USA | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity