my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Omission of "May" on new Poke-Powers

   
Author Topic: Omission of "May" on new Poke-Powers
SteveP

Member # 14743


posted October 04, 2002 08:37 AM      Profile for SteveP   Email SteveP    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
As many know, some of the WOTC versions of the E-cards have omitted the "may" word from their Poke-Powers (i.e., Feraligatr). IMO, this is causing some serious confusion amongst kids on how the powers should work. Furthermore, as a judge, how am I supposed to rule if a player forgets to use the power (and this "memory loss" inadvertantly benefits them)?

Come on WOTC, it's time to do what you did with Igglybuff's Gaze PP! Make the use of these Powers optional!

BTW, the Japanese version of these power DO have "may" in them.

--------------------
Proud member of Team PokéParents - we play Pokémon with our kids!

From: Colorado Springs, CO, USA | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted October 04, 2002 08:43 AM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
From last night's chat:

== DRIVE OFF (Light Arcanine - Neo: Destiny Expansion)

* Also, here is a rules clarification about Expedition. There are a few Poke-POWERS that were not correctly translated and templated. [...] The Light Arcanine from Neo Destiny is another power that should have had "you may" also included. So please play this power and any others that seems similar (meaning you should normally have the option to use instead of having to use) as if it included "you may". (Oct 3, 2002 WotC Chat Announcements)

***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS SINCE BEEN OVERRULED; See Above *****
Q. Is the Pokémon Power Drive Off (Light Arcanine) mandatory?
A. Light Arcanine's Drive Off is written in a way that makes it mandatory if he is your active Pokemon. If [this] Pokemon is Active and unaffected by a Special Condition, you MUST use their Pokemon Power. (Sep 5, 2002 WotC Chat, Q224; Sep 16, 2002 WotC Rules Team Update, Item 13)

== MAJOR TSUNAMI (Feraligatr - Expedition Expansion)

* Also, here is a rules clarification about Expedition. There are a few Poke-POWERS that were not correctly translated and templated. Specifically the Feraligatr and its Major Tsunami power SHOULD have said "you may" in it. So please play this power and any others that seems similar (meaning you should normally have the option to use instead of having to use) as if it included "you may". The Light Arcanine from Neo Destiny is another power that should have had "you may" also included. (Oct 3, 2002 WotC Chat Announcements)

***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS SINCE BEEN OVERRULED; See Above *****
Q. For Expedition Feraligatr's "Major Tsunami" Pokemon Power, is it mandatory that you and your opponent *HAVE TO* do the switch or is it optional? The text does not say "you may...". Same goes for Light Arcanine.
A. Both of these effects are mandatory. If either of these Pokemon is Active and unaffected by a Special Condition, you MUST use their Pokemon Power. (Sep 16, 2002 WotC Rules Team Update, Item 13)

So there you have it.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
LuckyCal

Member # 2435



posted October 04, 2002 10:11 AM      Profile for LuckyCal   Email LuckyCal    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
YES!!! Judges and players alike will celebrate this ruling! Judges, mostly...

--------------------
He's always ready, he's always set, he's always well prepared. He's the most peculiar man you'd care to meet. -- Barenaked Ladies (The King Of Bedside Manor)

I know, but I still believe in ignorance as my best defense. -- Matchbox Twenty (Argue)

Have you seen Ajax?

From: Springfield, USA | Registered: Mar 2001  |  IP: Logged
Porygone3
Member
Member # 73689



posted October 04, 2002 11:40 AM      Profile for Porygone3      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
hey I dont think Misty's Girodos was translated correctly eather and I think it should say "may" so like umm yah I'm gonna use it that way...

oh wait- heres an idea... play it as it reads?

--------------------
Erica total 24, thats right, 24.
Dunsprace total 41.
I've gotten 98 on that Machoke at work game. I beat Driving Corasola.
I almost beat the record in Hold Down hip hop. I got 2000 or so in Kinglers day. I got 7 in Rapadash's dash. Butterfree's Flower Power 4700. 123 In Jumping Dodoro. My all foil deck is finished.

"I've got floating engery."
"I've got counter productive Powers."

"One heart can make a diferance."
"Rock the world baby, rock the world."
"Roll out!!"

From: USA | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted October 04, 2002 11:46 AM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I suppose we'll play Rocket's Minefield Gym as written, too.

The cards were judging nightmares as written and therefore erattaed. Logistically, they could not be played as written.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
DOMCGI

Member # 20344



posted October 04, 2002 12:36 PM      Profile for DOMCGI      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
From what is posted by yoshi1001 which is copied from the chat, WOTC list the Drive Off and Major Tsunami should have the "may" word. I have no objection on this.

But it also open the door that "So please play this power and any others that SEEMS similar". From my understanding, this "SEEMS similar" do pass the justification to the player to decide any other power should have the additional "MAY".

I believe it is not good. Everyone can have their own view on "SEEMS similar". WOTC should list (or errata) all affected cards, and declare that any card not on the list SHOULD NOT have the additional "MAY".

--------------------
An Old Pokemon Trading Card Game Player.

Pokemon Professor: Score of 40/50

From: Toronto, Canada | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted October 04, 2002 12:53 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I don't think this will be abused (since most of those cases already have rulings on them), and really I think WotC was just covering themselves in case there are any more typos in the set. For now I would say it is limited to these two cards, though (although an offical rule would be nice-hint, hint).

[ October 04, 2002, 12:57 PM: Message edited by: yoshi1001 ]

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
NoPoke

Member # 42315


posted October 04, 2002 01:46 PM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Does this mean that we can expect the Pokemon Oracle to be changed to reflect the missing 'may'?

--------------------
========================================
'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
SteveP

Member # 14743


posted October 04, 2002 02:43 PM      Profile for SteveP   Email SteveP    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
YES!!!! [Bounce]

Thanks so much yoshi for posting the info from the chat. I guess I should have attended, or I wouldn't have posted this topic.

Now, let me "open another can of worms." In its Japanese version, Strength Charm only targets the Defending Pokemon and/or your Active Pokemon. The current ruling on the WOTC version of Strength Charm allows 10+ damage done to any/all Pokemon. With this ruling, Strength Charm is so powerful, that it will significantly influence the metagame to the wide-spread use of bench attackers. Personally, I really like the currently ruling on Strength Charm; however, I think the ruling makes the card broken. JMO.

--------------------
Proud member of Team PokéParents - we play Pokémon with our kids!

From: Colorado Springs, CO, USA | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged
mercad
Member
Member # 22435



posted October 05, 2002 03:35 PM      Profile for mercad   Email mercad    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
broken... no... good... yes, dark ursaring/murkrow is now a good deck to play (who ever though u would hear that?)

--------------------
Team Delibird Co-Leader

"Don't be touching your little delibird"

Buk Buk

Merc: Gengar dont make me pull out the big guns
DMTM: NO! don't he's my friend
Gengar: GENGAR!
Merc: Ok! Go DELIBIRD!
Delibird: Deli... Delibird
Merc: Delibird use present!
Delibird: DELI!
Gengar: ?_?
Gengar: GENGAR!
DMTM: Looks like were blasting off again

From: Rancho Cucamunga, California, United States | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity