my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Question on Retreating...

Author Topic: Question on Retreating...
Member # 129613

posted March 03, 2003 02:33 PM      Profile for sleepy-mon   Email sleepy-mon    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Again, I am returing to the game after a long period of time, so my question, what are the rules with regards to retreating?

I mean, how many times can you retreat on your turn?

Example: When I played this weekend, for the first time in a long time, my opponent retreated his pokemon, because it was poisoned, and replaced it with another. Then he proceeded to retreat the one he just put out, and brought back his pokemon that had been poisened. So by retreating he cured it of its poison.

My question again is, is what he did legal in game play? [Confused]

"Remember, any choice you make, has a consequence, whether it be a good or bad choice."

From: Seattle | Registered: Feb 2003  |  IP: Logged

Member # 108723

posted March 03, 2003 02:56 PM      Profile for TheGameHHH6662   Email TheGameHHH6662    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Yup! All perfectly legal!Providing you do all you need to(pay retreat cost etc) you can retreat as many times as you like unless you're locked in place(with Murkrow's mean look)or any other poke power prevents you retreating.That's why you should have plenty of free retreat pokemon i.e. babies to help with poison,burn etc.

Play the game or the game will play you.
Hark,can you hear them? How beautiful they sound,the children of the night!
So,you think you're tough with that Gatr? Well bring it on!!

From: Norwich,England | Registered: Oct 2002  |  IP: Logged
Member # 113463

posted March 03, 2003 03:11 PM      Profile for dkates      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
That is why one of my old favorite strategies was Dragonite/Dodrio. Nice switcher/anti-condition combo, in my experience.

Every time I think I can't say anything stupider, I prove myself wrong. Maybe I should just stop thinking.

From: Houston, TX | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
Member # 126697

posted March 03, 2003 03:17 PM      Profile for tolotos   Email tolotos    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
But in the new ADV rulings they changed this rule (limiting to one retreat per turn), however they arenīt out in USA and Europe, so keep retreating many times as long as itīs legal.
Registered: Feb 2003  |  IP: Logged

All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | | Privacy Statement

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0