my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » About restriction rules...

   
Author Topic: About restriction rules...
Payne_Mage
Member
Member # 97997



posted December 22, 2002 11:01 AM      Profile for Payne_Mage      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I played Pokemon for a while when it first came out and a few expansions after that, up to Rocket, I think...

But I had a question on restrictions in tournaments. Is there anything stopping you from using a base set Scyther, for example, in the same deck as a newer Scyther with the same name? I believe the rule is "limit of 4 copies of any given card according to it's name", so theoretically you could use 4 different "Scyther"'s in your deck in any format, right?

So Pokemon has no restrictions on expansions as of now?

--------------------
Effigys should be tribal in ONSLAUGHT!!!11

Check this out: http://boards.wizards.com/tcg/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=28;t=021231

Heartwood Giant looks like Serj from System of a Down...

http://www.threebrain.com/daily.shtml?3_16_2002 : Go there and watch. You will never laugh so hard in the rest of your life, even if you live to be 235.

From: Pennsylvania | Registered: Jul 2002  |  IP: Logged
Payne_Mage
Member
Member # 97997



posted December 22, 2002 11:11 AM      Profile for Payne_Mage      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Gah, the Magic man is being ignored...

--------------------
Effigys should be tribal in ONSLAUGHT!!!11

Check this out: http://boards.wizards.com/tcg/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=28;t=021231

Heartwood Giant looks like Serj from System of a Down...

http://www.threebrain.com/daily.shtml?3_16_2002 : Go there and watch. You will never laugh so hard in the rest of your life, even if you live to be 235.

From: Pennsylvania | Registered: Jul 2002  |  IP: Logged
Bo_Dragon
Member
Member # 75780



posted December 22, 2002 11:18 AM      Profile for Bo_Dragon   Email Bo_Dragon    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Payne_Mage:
I played Pokemon for a while when it first came out and a few expansions after that, up to Rocket, I think...

But I had a question on restrictions in tournaments. Is there anything stopping you from using a base set Scyther, for example, in the same deck as a newer Scyther with the same name? I believe the rule is "limit of 4 copies of any given card according to it's name", so theoretically you could use 4 different "Scyther"'s in your deck in any format, right?

You cannot use Scyther (Jungle) in MMF; however, you can use Scyther (Jungle) in unlimited.

quote:
Originally posted by Payne_Mage:
So Pokemon has no restrictions on expansions as of now?

The following sets are restricted in MMF:

Base

Jungle

Fossil

Team Rocket

Gym Heroes

Gym Challenge

Base 2 (rerelease of cards from Base and Jungle)

The following cards are restricted in MMF:

__________'s Pikachu (the card known as Birthday Pikachu)

Ancient Mew

Sneasel (Neo Genesis)

Black Star promos #1 - #22

Slowking (Neo Genesis) (as of Jan 2003)

[ December 22, 2002, 11:47 AM: Message edited by: Bo_Dragon ]

--------------------
AIM: BoHockeyDragon, Pranger103
E-mail: dragonrngr@yahoo.com, pranger103@aol.com

From: Greenville, SC | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged
Payne_Mage
Member
Member # 97997



posted December 22, 2002 11:24 AM      Profile for Payne_Mage      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
What is MMF?

I just thought that, since they have the same name, they were protected under that rule.

--------------------
Effigys should be tribal in ONSLAUGHT!!!11

Check this out: http://boards.wizards.com/tcg/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=28;t=021231

Heartwood Giant looks like Serj from System of a Down...

http://www.threebrain.com/daily.shtml?3_16_2002 : Go there and watch. You will never laugh so hard in the rest of your life, even if you live to be 235.

From: Pennsylvania | Registered: Jul 2002  |  IP: Logged
Super Celebi
Member
Member # 119481



posted December 22, 2002 11:27 AM      Profile for Super Celebi      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Also, the "same name" rule still applies. You cannot play 4 Scyther (Neo Discovery) and 4 Scyther (Neo Destiny) in the same deck. You can, however, play two of each, though.

"Same name" only counts exactly. You could play a deck with 4 Pikachu (Expedition), 4 Surfing Pikachu (Promo), and 4 Flying Pikachu (Promo), as they all are considered to have different names.

--------------------
Two cards I hate are the Neo Genesis Cleffa and Pokémon Breeder. I use the latter only in emergencies and the former only in traveling emergencies.

I am NOT MrPokemonChallenge. I am his apprentice, who shares his views. I don't even live within 50 miles of MrPokemonChallenge.

From: A secret I have sworn only to my master, MrPokemonChallenge. | Registered: Dec 2002  |  IP: Logged
Payne_Mage
Member
Member # 97997



posted December 22, 2002 11:31 AM      Profile for Payne_Mage      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Super Celebi:
Also, the "same name" rule still applies. You cannot play 4 Scyther (Neo Discovery) and 4 Scyther (Neo Destiny) in the same deck. You can, however, play two of each, though.

"Same name" only counts exactly. You could play a deck with 4 Pikachu (Expedition), 4 Surfing Pikachu (Promo), and 4 Flying Pikachu (Promo), as they all are considered to have different names.

But what I mean was "are there formats where you can't use a base Scyther, for example, in the same deck as a later Scyther with the same name."

--------------------
Effigys should be tribal in ONSLAUGHT!!!11

Check this out: http://boards.wizards.com/tcg/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=28;t=021231

Heartwood Giant looks like Serj from System of a Down...

http://www.threebrain.com/daily.shtml?3_16_2002 : Go there and watch. You will never laugh so hard in the rest of your life, even if you live to be 235.

From: Pennsylvania | Registered: Jul 2002  |  IP: Logged
Super Celebi
Member
Member # 119481



posted December 22, 2002 11:35 AM      Profile for Super Celebi      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
There are. It's called Unlimited.

Bo_Dragon, Legendary Collection is legal in Modified as it came out after Neo Destiny. It doesn't matter if the cards are reprints. In fact, Modified has the "previously printed" rule. If a Modified-legal card is a reprint of an earlier card, you can use earlier versions of that card in Modified. For example, you could use one Base Set Charizard, one Base Set 2 Charizard, and two Legendary Collection Charizard in the same Modified-legal deck because Legendary Collection is a legal expansion and the Charizard is a reprint of the Base Set edition (reprinted in both Base Set 2 and Legendary Collection).

--------------------
Two cards I hate are the Neo Genesis Cleffa and Pokémon Breeder. I use the latter only in emergencies and the former only in traveling emergencies.

I am NOT MrPokemonChallenge. I am his apprentice, who shares his views. I don't even live within 50 miles of MrPokemonChallenge.

From: A secret I have sworn only to my master, MrPokemonChallenge. | Registered: Dec 2002  |  IP: Logged
Bo_Dragon
Member
Member # 75780



posted December 22, 2002 11:37 AM      Profile for Bo_Dragon   Email Bo_Dragon    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Payne_Mage:
But what I mean was "are there formats where you can't use a base Scyther, for example, in the same deck as a later Scyther with the same name."

You cannot use Scyther (Jungle), what you are calling the base Scyther, in modified (MMF).

--------------------
AIM: BoHockeyDragon, Pranger103
E-mail: dragonrngr@yahoo.com, pranger103@aol.com

From: Greenville, SC | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged
Payne_Mage
Member
Member # 97997



posted December 22, 2002 12:01 PM      Profile for Payne_Mage      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Bo_Dragon:
quote:
Originally posted by Payne_Mage:
But what I mean was "are there formats where you can't use a base Scyther, for example, in the same deck as a later Scyther with the same name."

You cannot use Scyther (Jungle), what you are calling the base Scyther, in modified (MMF).
Yes, I'm sorry, I meant Jungle. You caught it before I could edit...

--------------------
Effigys should be tribal in ONSLAUGHT!!!11

Check this out: http://boards.wizards.com/tcg/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=28;t=021231

Heartwood Giant looks like Serj from System of a Down...

http://www.threebrain.com/daily.shtml?3_16_2002 : Go there and watch. You will never laugh so hard in the rest of your life, even if you live to be 235.

From: Pennsylvania | Registered: Jul 2002  |  IP: Logged
Articjedi

Member # 342



posted December 22, 2002 05:08 PM      Profile for Articjedi   Email Articjedi    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
What the "protection rule" means is that you can use earlier versions of the same card for modified format, so you don't have to spend extra money for cards you already have.

For example, base ponyta can be used in modified format, even though base is banned. This is beacause of the Legendary Collection set that just came out. The exact same ponyta was used in the expansion. However, you cannot use Rocket ponyta, even though they have the same name, they are not the same card. Therefore, rocket ponyta is banned.

--------------------
Thank you WOTC for a wonderful pokemon journey.

From: Seattle, Washington | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Super Celebi
Member
Member # 119481



posted December 22, 2002 05:21 PM      Profile for Super Celebi      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I wouldn't have used the TR Ponyta anyway.

--------------------
Two cards I hate are the Neo Genesis Cleffa and Pokémon Breeder. I use the latter only in emergencies and the former only in traveling emergencies.

I am NOT MrPokemonChallenge. I am his apprentice, who shares his views. I don't even live within 50 miles of MrPokemonChallenge.

From: A secret I have sworn only to my master, MrPokemonChallenge. | Registered: Dec 2002  |  IP: Logged
WizPog_BJJ

Member # 113374



posted December 22, 2002 08:34 PM      Profile for WizPog_BJJ   Email WizPog_BJJ    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Oh, and it's MF. There is NO such thing as MMF. Sanctioned Constructed tournaments are either Unlimited or Modified Format. MF stands for Modified Format. To get the best understanding of the different Pokémon formats, read the Pokémon floor rules by clicking on "2002-2003 Pokémon Floor Rules" after clicking HERE!

--------------------
The Compendium

WizPog Posting Rules

Wizards.Community Code of Conduct

From: Warwick RI USA | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
Super Celebi
Member
Member # 119481



posted December 23, 2002 07:45 AM      Profile for Super Celebi      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
The MMF abbreviation came when the changes to MF were announced, while Rocket On! was still MF. Of course, the MMF abbreviation should be dead.

--------------------
Two cards I hate are the Neo Genesis Cleffa and Pokémon Breeder. I use the latter only in emergencies and the former only in traveling emergencies.

I am NOT MrPokemonChallenge. I am his apprentice, who shares his views. I don't even live within 50 miles of MrPokemonChallenge.

From: A secret I have sworn only to my master, MrPokemonChallenge. | Registered: Dec 2002  |  IP: Logged
kurobatto
Member
Member # 82943



posted December 23, 2002 12:45 PM      Profile for kurobatto   Email kurobatto    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Ok, since you play Magic, basically Modified (aka MMF as described by Bo_Dragon) is the Type 2 of Pokemon. Right now, only Neo block, Expedition block, and Legendary Collection (kinda like 7th Edition) are legal. Sneasel, Ancient Mew, and Birthday Pikachu are banned. Slowking is banned as well starting January 1st. Oh and promos #1-20 are banned as well.

You're right about the 4 of a card rule. You can only use 4 of a card named "Scyther", regardless of its expansion.

--------------------
[tog.online - Your one-stop source for the Pokemon Trading Card Game.]

Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged
PokePop

Member # 8



posted December 23, 2002 02:15 PM      Profile for PokePop   Email PokePop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Unlike Magic, you not only look at the name, but also the Level of the Pokemon to determine if it's the "same" card for reprint purposes.
So, while you follow the name rule for number in your deck, it's really "name & level" for legality.

Hope that helps.

--------------------
"This kind of makes you miss the compendium..." - Martin Moreno

The Compendium: http://pkcompendium.hypermart.net

Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
GymLeaderPhil

Member # 455



posted December 23, 2002 03:55 PM      Profile for GymLeaderPhil   Email GymLeaderPhil    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by PokePop:
Unlike Magic, you not only look at the name, but also the Level of the Pokemon to determine if it's the "same" card for reprint purposes.
So, while you follow the name rule for number in your deck, it's really "name & level" for legality.

Hope that helps.

That is unless it has no level printed on it... which will be quite a problem if Expedition ever gets a reprint...
-Phil

--------------------
THIS is truly thinking outside of the box!

Check out Florida's Pokemon Website


From: Where ever the ladies take me | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted December 23, 2002 04:28 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Then you must (gasp) read the card. [Wink]

Seeing as the card was already released in english at that point... [Wink]

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
PokePop

Member # 8



posted December 23, 2002 08:12 PM      Profile for PokePop   Email PokePop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Well, Expedition does have those little code numbers on them...
I hope they will stay consistant if they are reprinted.

--------------------
"This kind of makes you miss the compendium..." - Martin Moreno

The Compendium: http://pkcompendium.hypermart.net

Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
The Dark Llama
Member
Member # 75434



posted December 30, 2002 09:46 PM      Profile for The Dark Llama   Email The Dark Llama    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Bo_Dragon:

quote:
Originally posted by Payne_Mage:
So Pokemon has no restrictions on expansions as of now?

The following sets are restricted in MMF:

The following cards are restricted in MMF:

__________'s Pikachu (the card known as Birthday Pikachu)

Ancient Mew

Sneasel (Neo Genesis)

Black Star promos #1 - #22

QB]

I was told that WoTC only banned Promos 1-20, which is true? 20 or 22?

--------------------
Best Decks
Kurai Tsuki no Kokoro
Dark Ampharos/Dark Espeon
31-7

Kage Ha!
Dark Scizor
8-0

Elm, Oak, Cleffa and Copycat are archetypes.

YGO Deck:
Yukai na Shi ni yotte Ryu
Pleasant Death by way of Dragon
25-8

My have/want list

One Sentence Add-On!

From: San Diego | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged
DOMCGI

Member # 20344



posted December 31, 2002 09:18 AM      Profile for DOMCGI      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Black Star Promo #1 to #20 are not allowed in Modified format. Black Star Promo #21 and up or the new "Best" promo are allowed.

--------------------
An Old Pokemon Trading Card Game Player.

Pokemon Professor: Score of 40/50

From: Toronto, Canada | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged
TheGameHHH6662

Member # 108723



posted January 03, 2003 05:11 PM      Profile for TheGameHHH6662   Email TheGameHHH6662    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
All black star promos numbered 21 onwards are tournament legal as are 'best of' promos as they come out.Of course this will change again(presumably in September) when(my guess) neo genesis,discovery and revelation will rotate out.

--------------------
Play the game or the game will play you.
Hark,can you hear them? How beautiful they sound,the children of the night!
So,you think you're tough with that Gatr? Well bring it on!!

From: Norwich,England | Registered: Oct 2002  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity