my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » suicune crystal body

Author Topic: suicune crystal body

Member # 70624

posted October 19, 2002 07:24 PM      Profile for jesschow12   Email jesschow12    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
a) does mew south island rainbow wave attack effect suicune if i choose water type?

b) i use neo dis houndoom scrunch this turn to suicune,do i add 2o dmg my next turn's attack to suicune

c) if suicune was benched and i use dark tyranitar fling away,do i do 30 dmg to suicune?

d)if i use neo dis scizor false swipe on suicune ,will it take dmg

e)if i use neo dis butterfree hyper reverse on suicune,do i do dmg to it?

f) can i use erika dragonair take away on suicune?

g) what about S.golduck dmg shift,can i use it on suicune

h) can i use metronome on suicune' attack?

i) if i get head for dark donphan tusk toss on suicune,will suicune return to his hand

j) if i use espeon psychic on suicune ,does the "+10 dmg for each energy attach to the defending pokemon " remove?

k)my suicunewas benchedand i use electric current and i take 1 (L)energy attach to suicune,do i discard it

l)does D.flaffy's stun wave effect suicune pkmn pow?

M)does smokescreen effect suicune?

n) does char effect suicune?

o)can S.hypno pendulum curse dmg suicune if it has dmg counters?
does invigorate effect suicune?

P) if suicune and S.abra have the same no. of energy attach and i use synchronize,does it take dmg

q)i use life drain and get head ,does suicune lkeft 10 hp?

r) i use neo dis xatu energy cycle,do i move 1 energy card from suicune to another pokemon

s) base gastly destiny bond:if i use that attack and suicune knock my gastly out ,does destiny bond effect suicune

have list

From: singapore | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged

Member # 825

posted October 20, 2002 07:59 AM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
a. Yes

b. No ruling exists in this case (by the way, the attack's name is crunch). However, were I forced to make a ruling:

Q. On neo 2 's Houndoom, does the Crunch effect go away if the defending pokemon is benched and then comes back?
A. Correct the effect would go away. (Jun 7, 2001 WotC Chat, Q3)

This ruling states crunch's effect lies on the defending Pokemon (in this case Suicune). Since the effect is not damage in and of itself, I would say it would be prevented. However:

Q. The Suicune ruling doesn't affect how darkness and metal energy cards are played? Would a Darkness Energy add 10 damage to an attack against Suicune? Would a Metal reduce it by 10?
A. Yes! Any effect from an attached energy card that alters the amount of damage done is NOT affected by Suicune. (Dec 13, 2001 WotC Chat, Q522 & Q592)

This ruling complicates matters, but I maintain my opinion (until an official rule comes out) as this is an effect of energy on damage and crunch is an effect of an attack on damage. As I said, just my opinion.

c. yes

d. yes

e. yes

f. no

g. no

h. yes

Q. Does Suicune prevent Metronome?
A. No. (Dec 13, 2001 WotC Chat, Q568)

i. no

j. You would add the damage

k. Remeber, effects of your attacks can still affct Suicune. This works like normal

l. No, as unlike magby the effect resides on the defending Pokemon (no direct rule that I can find, but I assume this would be the ruling based on this: "If Suicune is a Benched Pokemon and Dark Arbok uses its Stare attack against it ("Choose 1 of your opponent's Pokemon. This attack does 10 damage to that Pokemon. Don't apply Weakness and Resistance for this attack. (Any other effects that would happen after applying Weakness and Resistance still happen.) If that Pokemon has a Pokemon Power, that power stops working until the end of your opponent's next turn."), Suicune would still take the 10 damage but its Crystal Body Pokemon Power would prevent the Stare's effect of shutting off the Pokemon Power. ")

m. Not if the power was working when smokescreen was used.

n. Suicune cannot be charred while its power works. If the power stops working, then it is charred, it can be effected if if its power comes back on later.

o. Pendulum curse works. Invogorate is a whole other can of worms. I guaruntee you don't put any damae counters on it. The question becomes can you take it out of the discard pile (pokemon powers do not generally work until the Pokemon is in play). So, I'd say you can with no damage counters being placed, but again, that's just my opinion and not an official ruling (this all assumes you're dealing with an opposing Suicune if it was yours it would work like any other basic).

p. yes

q. no

r. No, nor the other way around.

s. Unclear. Technically the effect of Destiny Bond lies on Gastly and based on the following rule:

Q. Would Wobbuffet's Counter if successful ignore an opposing Focus Band??
A. No it doesn't. To clarify: Focus Band will not be triggered by Crosscounter or Counter as these are not considered actual attacks. (May 16, 2002 WotC Chat, Q128 & Q149 & after-Q150)

This seems to suggst the same for destiny bond, and thus would not be affected by crystal body. However, Once again there is no direct ruling on this.

Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards


AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged

All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | | Privacy Statement

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0