my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Promo Mew??

   
Author Topic: Promo Mew??
CmonIWanaPLaYa
Member
Member # 101319



posted February 24, 2003 11:43 AM      Profile for CmonIWanaPLaYa      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Ok. There is a dispute of Promo Mew's PP that a few Professor's and I can't quite nail down.

If Mew is Active, and a bench damaging attack is performed, let's use Trample from Discovery TTar, does the "Effect" of the attack which goes to the bench still occur? Technically, it is an "Effect" of an attack which Mew's PP says to ignore, however it specifically designates Mew. See the confusion.
The attack was used against Mew and the effect of the attack is against Mew even though it is doing damage to the bench.

Another Scenario is Donphan's Rapid Spin. thought the effect of the attack is prevented to Mew, does your opponent have to bring up a benched pokemon even though this is an effect?

Please shine some light on this. The problem is, both attacks have "Effects" that go to the bench or designate the Benched Pokemon.

Thanks in advance!!

--------------------
Either, you Pokemon Yes, or you Pokemon no. If you Pokemon Guess So, sooner later, "squish" justa like bug Pokemon!!

Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged
Freddy K

Member # 24380



posted February 24, 2003 11:54 AM      Profile for Freddy K   Email Freddy K    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by CmonIWanaPLaYa:
Ok. There is a dispute of Promo Mew's PP that a few Professor's and I can't quite nail down.

If Mew is Active, and a bench damaging attack is performed, let's use Trample from Discovery TTar, does the "Effect" of the attack which goes to the bench still occur? Technically, it is an "Effect" of an attack which Mew's PP says to ignore, however it specifically designates Mew. See the confusion.
The attack was used against Mew and the effect of the attack is against Mew even though it is doing damage to the bench.

Another Scenario is Donphan's Rapid Spin. thought the effect of the attack is prevented to Mew, does your opponent have to bring up a benched pokemon even though this is an effect?

Please shine some light on this. The problem is, both attacks have "Effects" that go to the bench or designate the Benched Pokemon.

Thanks in advance!!

1 - He would have to flip for the bench ones. Mew would escape the 50+ [Black Mana] damage from the Tyranitar. This is due to Neutral Shield.

2 - Mew is switched and so the effect's on him too. Mew would not be affected by damage and nor would it have to hit the bench. Donphan though would.

From Team Compendium..

quote:

Q. If Promo Mew [Lv. 8 with "Neutral Shield" power, aka "Lily Pad Mew"] is the Active Pokemon, can Dark Gengar's "Pull In" attack be used?
A. Dark Gengar's Pull In effect CANNOT be used if promo Mew is the Active Pokemon [ed note: nor can this Promo Mew be 'pulled in' to the active position from the bench], or if the LVL 33 Suicune is the Active Pokemon (and their Pokemon Powers are functioning), or if the Defending Pokemon has an Agility effect on it. Switching a Pokemon up from the Bench with the Active Pokemon is considered "affecting" the Active Pokemon, and in these cases, this is prevented. (Sep 5, 2002 WotC Chat, Q247; Sep 16, 2002 WotC Rules Team Update, Item 1)

Q. If I use an attack that does damage to the opponent's bench, but the defending pokemon is "Lily Pad" Mew with Neutral Shield, does the bench damage get blocked or not? I would guess "not blocked".
A. Right...not blocked that is. (Oct 31, 2002 WotC Chat, Q227)

Q. Just to confirm, Umbreon's & Murkrow's "Feint Attack" is unaffected by Erika's Dratini's "Strange Barrier" and Lily Pad Mew's "Neutral Shield", right?
A. RIGHT! [NOTE: But only when Erika's Dratini or Lily Pad Mew are in the active slot.] Correct. (Dec 12, 2002 WotC Chat, Q88)

Q. Does Rapid Spin from a non basic pokemon toward lilypad mew let the opponent's Rapid Spin pokemon switch?
A. No. Switching up from the bench is still considered affecting the active. So no switching in this case. (Feb 13, 2003 WotC Chat, Q949)

~fK [Blush]

--------------------
AIM: TEFr3ddyK
Features writer, Pokémon World Magazine.

GENCON-EUROPE 2003
Professor Championship - 1st
TeamMP Championship - 1st w/(s_b)

Visit Team UK!

"how can two bright red fleece Professor jackets be lost in an office? Can they be stuffed in a drawer? Under a stapler? In-between a stack of folders? Or on top of a pot plant?"

From: Slough, England UK | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity