my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Attach 4 engery in one turn!!

   
Author Topic: Attach 4 engery in one turn!!
Porygone3
Member
Member # 73689



posted June 29, 2003 09:58 PM      Profile for Porygone3      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Hey, take a look at the Holo Swampert. It states you may attach a watter engery from your hand to your active pokemon.

Now take a look at Venusar from E1: Harvest Bounty says once during your turn when you attach an engery to your active pokemon, you may attach 1 more engery.

So, if you have 2 Harvest Bounty's in play and a Swampert out: you could attach 4 engery in one turn. 1 of them being a watter engery.

1 You attach to your active Harvest bounty #1 kicks in.

2 You attach 1 water to your active Harvest bounty #2 kicks in.

There you go. Raindance in Modafyed... kinda.
Or I guess you could just have 4 Swarmperts out and attach 5 engery in one turn.

If you had a harvest bounty Venusar out that would then it would be 6. Woot.

--------------------
Erica total 24, thats right, 24.
Dunsprace total 41.
I've gotten 98 on that Machoke at work game. I beat Driving Corasola.
I almost beat the record in Hold Down hip hop. I got 2000 or so in Kinglers day. I got 7 in Rapadash's dash. Butterfree's Flower Power 4700. 123 In Jumping Dodoro. My all foil deck is finished.

"I've got floating engery."
"I've got counter productive Powers."

"One heart can make a diferance."
"Rock the world baby, rock the world."
"Roll out!!"

From: USA | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged
The Dark Llama
Member
Member # 75434



posted June 29, 2003 10:09 PM      Profile for The Dark Llama   Email The Dark Llama    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Well, you're right, I think 2 Venusaur would make the effect double, but attach 4 Water to Swampert and remove 4 Damage counters from him too!

--------------------
Best Decks
Kurai Tsuki no Kokoro
Dark Ampharos/Dark Espeon
31-7

Kage Ha!
Dark Scizor
8-0

Elm, Oak, Cleffa and Copycat are archetypes.

YGO Deck:
Yukai na Shi ni yotte Ryu
Pleasant Death by way of Dragon
25-8

My have/want list

One Sentence Add-On!

From: San Diego | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged
Maverick Hunter Zero

Member # 6223



posted June 29, 2003 10:17 PM      Profile for Maverick Hunter Zero   Email Maverick Hunter Zero    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
UNfortunately for those of us who enjoy using that Venusaur, it does NOT have a cumulative effect... That won't work.

--------------------
http://www.mhzs-lair.com
AIM: MasterHunterZero
zero@mhzs-lair.com
http://mhz.deviantart.com

It's not cowardly to run.
It's futile.

kachu Pika piii Kaa pi pikachu?

From: The strange, frightening world known as "SoCali" | Registered: Mar 2001  |  IP: Logged
Prime
Member
Member # 102940



posted June 29, 2003 11:32 PM      Profile for Prime   Email Prime    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Q. For Expedition Venusaur's "Harvest Bounty" Pokemon Power, if I have more than one in play, is it's power cumulative? For example, if I have 2 Venusaurs on the bench, could I then attach 3 energy per turn to my Active?
A. This is a replacement effect and it is not cumulative. No matter how many Venusaur's are in play, you can only attach 2 Energy cards to your Active Pokemon instead of 1. (Sep 16, 2002 WotC Rules Team Update, Item 8)

--------------------
"Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

From: Asheville, North Carolina | Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged
Porygone3
Member
Member # 73689



posted June 30, 2003 01:34 AM      Profile for Porygone3      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Ok. perhaps I was not clear on how this works.
(sighs)

You have to have two Venusar out.
Ok. You attach a (whatever) engery on your active pokemon from your hand.
Venusar's Power lets you put one more on it. (The other one can't be used at the same time, we all know this, only one works at this time, duh)
THEN you acvate Swamperts Power, and ATTACH a watter engery to your active, since its from your hand you acvate the OTHER UNUSED Venusar.

OK. Go ahead, say that both Venusar must be used at the same time when you attach an engery... so I can break THAT.

Oh and if its really a problem you just have one Venusar out when you attach the first engery, then evolve the other, then use swamperts power. then attach the other two engery. SEE, there is away around it, but umm, yeah- if two venusar are out, one uses its power, the other does not...

--------------------
Erica total 24, thats right, 24.
Dunsprace total 41.
I've gotten 98 on that Machoke at work game. I beat Driving Corasola.
I almost beat the record in Hold Down hip hop. I got 2000 or so in Kinglers day. I got 7 in Rapadash's dash. Butterfree's Flower Power 4700. 123 In Jumping Dodoro. My all foil deck is finished.

"I've got floating engery."
"I've got counter productive Powers."

"One heart can make a diferance."
"Rock the world baby, rock the world."
"Roll out!!"

From: USA | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged
BJJ763

Member # 158



posted June 30, 2003 04:27 AM      Profile for BJJ763   Email BJJ763    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Sorry but that won't work. Venusaur's Harvest Bounty replaces your once per turn free enegry card attachment. It is not "kicked off" by placing energy so Swampert's Water Fall (i think that's what it's called) would have no effect on Venusaur. 3 cards/turn is where you're at.

--------------------
Our trade list

Pokémon answers at the Compendium

"We are not purposely trying to mess with your minds." - DMTM

Indentifier of the Magby Rule.
Baton-wielding thug cop.

From: Warwick RI USA | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Porygone3
Member
Member # 73689



posted June 30, 2003 01:38 PM      Profile for Porygone3      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
umm where do you get the idea that Venusar replaces your "free" engery card attachment. It states on the card that when you play an engery from your hand, you may attach 1 more.

So for example if you play Blane, and attach 2 fire engery to your active, you would attach 1 more, because Blane says insteed of your normal engery attachment attach 2 fire etc.. but that does not matter, your still attaching an engery and venusar would let you attach one more. Ummm I think they may have rulled odd on that one as well. But... just read the cards.

--------------------
Erica total 24, thats right, 24.
Dunsprace total 41.
I've gotten 98 on that Machoke at work game. I beat Driving Corasola.
I almost beat the record in Hold Down hip hop. I got 2000 or so in Kinglers day. I got 7 in Rapadash's dash. Butterfree's Flower Power 4700. 123 In Jumping Dodoro. My all foil deck is finished.

"I've got floating engery."
"I've got counter productive Powers."

"One heart can make a diferance."
"Rock the world baby, rock the world."
"Roll out!!"

From: USA | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged
WizPog_BJJ

Member # 113374



posted June 30, 2003 01:47 PM      Profile for WizPog_BJJ   Email WizPog_BJJ    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
From the Chats of course. Oh, and Blaine doesn't do anything for you either, as Blaine also replaced your one free energy placement per turn. Luckily for, The Compendium exists so that these chat rulings can be found in one place:

quote:
Q. Also for Expedition Venusaur's "Harvest Bounty" Pokemon Power, if I use a "Blaine" trainer, would Harvest Bounty allow me to attach *TWO* additional energies (one for each energy attached by the "Blaine" card), or only one extra energy? (Does Blaine+Harvest=4, or Blaine+Harvest=3 ?) How many energy cards do I get to attach: 2, 3, or 4?
A. 2, both Blaine and the Venusaur's Power effectivley do the same replcement effect. They are NOT cumulative. [Ed.Note: So in other words, you would only get to attach two energies TOTAL during that turn, period.] (Sep 16, 2002 WotC Rules Team Update, Item 9; Sep 19, 2002 WotC Chat, Q418)

and

quote:
Q. For Expedition Venusaur's "Harvest Bounty" Pokemon Power, if I have more than one in play, is it's power cumulative? For example, if I have 2 Venusaurs on the bench, could I then attach 3 energy per turn to my Active?
A. This is a replacement effect and it is not cumulative. No matter how many Venusaur's are in play, you can only attach 2 Energy cards to your Active Pokemon instead of 1. (Sep 16, 2002 WotC Rules Team Update, Item 8)

Bolding for emphasis mine.

--------------------
The Compendium

WizPog Posting Rules

Wizards.Community Code of Conduct

From: Warwick RI USA | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
WizPoG_Pop

Member # 113762



posted June 30, 2003 01:48 PM      Profile for WizPoG_Pop   Email WizPoG_Pop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Porygone3:
umm where do you get the idea that Venusar replaces your "free" engery card attachment. It states on the card that when you play an engery from your hand, you may attach 1 more.

So for example if you play Blane, and attach 2 fire engery to your active, you would attach 1 more, because Blane says insteed of your normal engery attachment attach 2 fire etc.. but that does not matter, your still attaching an engery and venusar would let you attach one more. Ummm I think they may have rulled odd on that one as well. But... just read the cards.

Well, they did rule. So it won't work. Sorry.

Once P-USA starts making rulings on old sets, you may want to bring the scenario up again, but until then, WotC has ruled that it does refer to the free attachment and that even if Blaine were played, it would just be a replacement of that, too. None of these are cumulative.

Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
Porygone3
Member
Member # 73689



posted June 30, 2003 09:12 PM      Profile for Porygone3      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
what your basicly saying is that although the power has you "attach an engery" from your hand, this would not triger Harvest Bounty, at all... Even if that was the first time you attached engery that turn because its not really your attachment for that turn.

Humm. So when you declare raindance Harvest Bounty does not triger. However when you attach your normal engery for that turn it does.

It just seems that any card "copy" effects are rulled agenst so that duplacate powers don't "stack" even though it would not stack, it would just triger, is it just that the Pokemon mechanics cant "handle" this sort of duplacate effects...? Perhaps its a way to avoid complex rullings. Although I supose that you could just have multipull Swamperts to attach up to 4 and then 2 more with Venusar's Bounty or 2 with Blane. Or as much as you want with Raindance.

Cant win em all I supose but I feel this isnt the way it should be played.

--------------------
Erica total 24, thats right, 24.
Dunsprace total 41.
I've gotten 98 on that Machoke at work game. I beat Driving Corasola.
I almost beat the record in Hold Down hip hop. I got 2000 or so in Kinglers day. I got 7 in Rapadash's dash. Butterfree's Flower Power 4700. 123 In Jumping Dodoro. My all foil deck is finished.

"I've got floating engery."
"I've got counter productive Powers."

"One heart can make a diferance."
"Rock the world baby, rock the world."
"Roll out!!"

From: USA | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged
Prime
Member
Member # 102940



posted June 30, 2003 11:15 PM      Profile for Prime   Email Prime    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
The vensaur says "if you attach an energy card to your active pokemon as part of your turn". So if you use a power or trainer to attach an additional energy then it isn't as part of your turn. Ehh how can i put it better? Laying your one energy is a specific part of you turn. Using a power to lay and extra one isn't because you are using a power or a trainer to bend the rules of normal play. I really can't explain it better than that.

--------------------
"Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

From: Asheville, North Carolina | Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity