my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Expedition Tyranitar versus Light Golduck...?

   
Author Topic: Expedition Tyranitar versus Light Golduck...?
Gymbo

Member # 30832



posted November 16, 2002 10:39 AM      Profile for Gymbo   Email Gymbo    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Okay, a good friend and I are having a slight debate on what would happen in this case. The problem presented is this:

Expedition Tyranitar has a PokeBody titled "Dark Aura" and it reads "All Energy attached to Tyranitar is *Darkness Energy* instead of its usual type".

*There is a "Darkness Energy Symbol".

Now. The second part of the problem, Light Golduck has an attack entitled "Core Blast" which reads "This attack does 30 damage plus 20 more damage for each Special Energy Card attached to the Defending Pokemon"

So, now, the question. If Light Golduck attacks Tyranitar (which has 4 random BASIC Energy cards attached), would Light Golduck get the added attack bonus?

I believe so because on Tyranitar's card it says "IS Darkness instead of its regular type" it doesn't say "BECOMES". There is no ruling on either Light Golduck or Expedition TTar for this scenario on Compendium. Please help!

Thanks!

--------------------
=Pokemon Professor Jim Ferrell=

*AKA The Publically Acclaimed and Talented Deck Mechanic Gymbo*
*Accomplished Rogue Player*
*Second Place Finisher at the Ohio SBZ '03*
*Creator of Espeon Decks*
*Innovator of Expedition Feraligatr*
*Current Project: Skyridge Analysis*

DCI: 2032
AIM: XGymbo01X

"Victory goes to the player who makes the next-to-last mistake."

From: Akron, OH, USA | Registered: Jul 2001  |  IP: Logged
Psychic_Prof

Member # 96987



posted November 16, 2002 10:47 AM      Profile for Psychic_Prof   Email Psychic_Prof    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
No...Darkness energy is not a special energy type. The Darkness Energy CARD happens to be. ETTar does not turn the cards attached to it into the a copy of the darkness energy card and get's no benefits from them.

TTar's Pokemon Power makes already attached energy cards provide Darkness energy (a basic energy type) instead of it's normal type.

--------------------
Using Archtypes in Pokemon would be like the Iron Chefs making a pepperoni pizza.

Creativity sets the elite from the amateur.

From: Redwood City Gym, Eureka, CA | Registered: Jul 2002  |  IP: Logged
TheGameHHH6662

Member # 108723



posted November 16, 2002 02:38 PM      Profile for TheGameHHH6662   Email TheGameHHH6662    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Good question but the answer is no it would not do the extra damage.You would only do the extra if special energy CARDS were attached.Although it has dark energy attached(because of the poke power)that is not the same thing as having dark energy CARDS attached. [Razz]

--------------------
Play the game or the game will play you.
Hark,can you hear them? How beautiful they sound,the children of the night!
So,you think you're tough with that Gatr? Well bring it on!!

From: Norwich,England | Registered: Oct 2002  |  IP: Logged
Drakeo

Member # 25453



posted November 16, 2002 04:25 PM      Profile for Drakeo   Email Drakeo    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
One more detail. If it IS a special energy card to begin with there is extra damage(Gymbo obviously already gets this but others reading it might not). Ie: You turn a recycle into a dark with the power.
From: Albuquerque, New Mexico | Registered: Jun 2001  |  IP: Logged
TheGameHHH6662

Member # 108723



posted November 17, 2002 03:33 PM      Profile for TheGameHHH6662   Email TheGameHHH6662    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Good point! [Smile]

--------------------
Play the game or the game will play you.
Hark,can you hear them? How beautiful they sound,the children of the night!
So,you think you're tough with that Gatr? Well bring it on!!

From: Norwich,England | Registered: Oct 2002  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity