my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Question about Erika

Author Topic: Question about Erika

Member # 103241

posted October 23, 2002 08:02 PM      Profile for Onix95      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
If my opponent is not paying attention to the game, and I play Erika, clearly announcing it, but he/she doesn't notice, then I play another Erika, and only after I have played and done the effects of the second Erika does he/she realize that I played 2, does he/she get to draw only up to 3 cards, or up to 6, since I already played something else?
(this happened in a real torunament though not DCI, and the jugdge ruled that since I played another card and its effects, my opponent couldn't draw the 3 for the first one, since it was his fault for watching another battle)

From: Honolulu, Hawaii | Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged

Member # 184

posted October 23, 2002 08:15 PM      Profile for IPGeek21   Email IPGeek21    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I would almost say UP TO THE JUDGE.

If it is JUST a casual game WHAT is wrong with giving the opponent a chance?

If it is not LET A JUDGE decide.

JUST TO BE FAIR not only would you announce the card BUT you could REMIND and tell the player WHAT s/he can do when you play Erika.

THAT way YOU know the opponent had a choice and DECIDED not to draw any cards.

This would help your case also if a JUDGE would have had to make a ruling.

Drafts bring out the BEST of the WORST cards in Pokemon
*TC Member/WizpogMOD_Squad/Master_Prof*
+GodFather to an Angel:RIP-Paloma Geronimo
Team Random
Proud bro of SSJ3DVP11
SHUT UP & DO something about it

From: The here, BUT WHERE shall we go? | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Dark and Vile

Member # 74653

posted October 24, 2002 02:40 AM      Profile for Dark and Vile   Email Dark and Vile    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
This reminds me a situation I've seen a lot more lately.

I will be playing Slowking and my opponent, rather than clearly announcing his/her desires to play a trainer, will simply hold the trainer out for me to see. And then try to play it quickly.

I get the impression they are trying to slip it by me, hoping I forget about playing my Slowking.

As I understand the rules, if my opponent doesn't announce what they're doing and, as a result, I do not get the opportunity to flip for Slowking, that's a mistake on my opponent's part.

A less-than-honorable Slowking player could use such a situation to his/her advantange.

So I believe it is in the best interest of a player to make sure his opponent knows exactly what is being played. Not to help his opponent, but to protect himself against an opponent who may use the situation against the player.

From: Melbourne, FL | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged

All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | | Privacy Statement

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0