my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » AQ Jumpluff's Pokebody (Page 2)

This thread has multiple pages: 1  2 
Author Topic: AQ Jumpluff's Pokebody

Member # 1237

posted February 04, 2003 04:00 PM      Profile for Dugtrio1951   Email Dugtrio1951    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Originally posted by LizardOTC:
The attack must occur (be in progress) for damage to be done. So, clearly, the attack is in progress when Fluff kicks in.

That can be debated. [Razz] Once the opponent announces an attack (Feint Attack) and chooses a Pokémon as its target (Jumpluff), that attack would damage/affect Jumpluff. The attack doesn't have to necessarily be DOING anything to Jumpluff yet but it WOULD BE doing something now that the attack and target have been stated (if not for the power getting in the way).

All the same, in the How Do You Figure Out the Damage? segment of the manual, it says that an attack has been started. And it's been established that the attack will be doing something to Jumpluff. So then you apply Jumpluff's relevant Pokémon Power, Fluff. Then any effects of the attacking Pokémon's attack (besides damage) are done. I maintain that if you go by the rulebook's order of doing things, Fluff still steps in front of Feint Attack.

Wonderful debate, isn't this? =)


55th registered Pokémon Professor, registered on February 20th, 2002 at 6:28 PM EST ^_^

Judge at the first Pokémon Professor Championships (I think I'll PRE-register next time..)

Check out Pokémon Zeo ( for all your Pokémon TCG needs: the Card Analyst, Deck Atelier, exclusive set information, and more!

From: Northeast Ohio, baby! | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged

Member # 85086

posted February 04, 2003 04:42 PM      Profile for Crobat1   Email Crobat1    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Could someone clarify for me whether a benched Aquapolis Jumpluff can prevent an entire attack?

Let's say I have a benched Jumpluff with one damage counter on the bench and my opponent's Aquapolis Steelix attacks with Earth Rift--which does 10 damage to each of my Pokemon including Jumpluff. If I flip a head with Jumpluff's Poke-Body, do I prevent damage to all of my Pokemon. That's the way it reads to me.

Also, let's say the opponent has a Revelation Kingdra as the active and Jumpluff is my only benched Pokemon. If Kingdra using Genetic Memory of Mud Splash flips a head, which would do 10 damage to Jumpluff, does Jumpluff's Poke-body (if I flip a head) stop damage to my active Pokemon?

If so---that is powerful.

The card reads: "If heads, prevent all effects of that attack (including damage)."

It doesn't say prevent damage to Jumpluff--it says all effects including damage.

[ February 04, 2003, 07:01 PM: Message edited by: Crobat1 ]

Bilbo Baggins: "Every worm has its weakness."

Winner, Syracuse SBZ, Feb, 2003
22nd Place, 10 and Under, World's, August, 2002
Winner, Friday's Open Modified Event, Origins, July, 2002
Winner, 10 and Under Gym Challenge, Milford, May, 2002

Winner, Albany SBZ, May, 2003
9th Place: Professor's Tournament at World's, August 2002
Top 4, Theme Deck Tournament at World's, August, 2002
Top 8, Unlimited Side Event at World's (Undefeated in Main Draw), August, 2002

From: Binghamton, NY | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged

All times are Pacific Time
This thread has multiple pages: 1  2 
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | | Privacy Statement

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0