my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Please Explain this Rulling

   
Author Topic: Please Explain this Rulling
Prime
Member
Member # 102940



posted July 03, 2003 12:25 AM      Profile for Prime   Email Prime    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
My friend wanted to know why people can use a Pokemon Breeder and get past Skyridge's Kabutops Power. You know the one that says you cannot play evolution cards. I believe this was ruled before, and my friend is wrong, but he jsut wants a simple explaination why it is ruled that way.

--------------------
"Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

From: Asheville, North Carolina | Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged
NoPoke

Member # 42315


posted July 03, 2003 01:24 AM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Prime:
My friend wanted to know why people can use a Pokemon Breeder and get past Skyridge's Kabutops Power. You know the one that says you cannot play evolution cards. I believe this was ruled before, and my friend is wrong, but he jsut wants a simple explaination why it is ruled that way.

well my first response is that you can't!Breeder modifies the evolution sequence but it is still evolving.

quote:
from the compendium
== PRIMAL AURA (Kabutops - Skyridge Expansion)

* Kabutops' Primal Aura means when it is Active neither player can play ANY Pokemon cards from their hand that will evolve any Benched Pokemon (Basic on Babies or Evolved on any). Either player CAN play a Baby or Basic onto their Bench. (May 29, 2003 WotC Chat, Q1749; May 23, 2003 Pokegym Message board )

checking the thread there is no mention of breeder.

Back to the Compendium, where it is quite clear than breeding is evolving. eg

quote:

== POKÉMON BREEDER (Base Set)

Q. When you use Pokémon Breeder do you discard it immediately or do you leave it on the Pokémon?
A. You discard the Pokémon Breeder Trainer card after doing its effect. (Mar 2 WotC Chat)

Q. Does Pokémon Breeder count as evolving because it doesn't say so on the card.
A. It still counts as evolving the Pokémon. (Jul 6, 2000 WotC Chat, Q267)

Q. Pokemon Breeder cannot be used on a Mysterious Fossil, since it is not a Basic Pokémon, correct?
A. It can. It counts as a basic Pokémon while in play. Omastar and Kabutops are Stage 2 Pokemon; you could use Breeder on Mysterious Fossil to skip to them. (May 16, 2002 WotC Chat, Q208 & Q238)

Q. If a Baby Pokémon is to be considered as a Basic while in play, and its Basic is to be considered as an "evolution" when evolved from the Baby, could the Stage 1 be considered a Stage 2 for game purposes like when using Breeder? (i.e. Pichu -> Raichu)
A. Nope, Pokémon Breeder says 'place a Stage 2 on a Basic'. There are no Stage 2 Pokémon that there are babies for. (Dec 14, 2000 WotC Chat, Q53 & Q69 & Q157)

Q. Can I use Pokémon Breeder on my first turn?
A. No, only when you could usually evolve. (Jan 25, 2001 WotC Chat, Q89)

Q. Can my opponent use Pokemon Breeder if I fail a Chaos Gym flip?
A. You cannot play or use Pokémon Breeder when it is NOT your turn. Whether in a 2 player game or a team multiplay. So far, the only way this comes up is with Chaos Gym. (Oct 17, 2002 WotC Chat, Q134)


I suspect your friend is remembering incorrectly... ah well, to err is human.... the referenced thread makes interesting reading on one of the pitfalls of the english language. Crobat1 refered to the problem as a 'dangling element' and gave a loverly example about some elephant he found in his pyjamas!

[ July 03, 2003, 01:39 AM: Message edited by: NoPoke ]

--------------------
========================================
'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity