my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » A simple pokemon trader problem

   
Author Topic: A simple pokemon trader problem
Taichi
Member
Member # 13564



posted July 01, 2003 06:03 PM      Profile for Taichi   Email Taichi    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
If I use pokemon trader to trade a pokemon from my hand with one of the pokemon in my deck, but then I realize that there's no pokemon left in my deck, would I still shuffle my pokemon back in the deck?
From: Toronto, Ont | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged
Postdog2Gengar
Member
Member # 18365



posted July 01, 2003 06:04 PM      Profile for Postdog2Gengar   Email Postdog2Gengar    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
As far as I can see, you would, but I am not positive on that.

--------------------
Are you a failure at Mario Bros? Don't worry, it happens to the best of us. What's that? You can't find that? The enemies are too powerful?

Answer: Visit my website for cheats, character profiles, 'n such.
http://postdog2.wtcsites.com/index.htm

You say if skills were like looks, you'd be Michael Jackson?

Answer: I'm not a miracle worker

-My E-Reader Records-

Construction Action (Trail): 22856

Mahcop At Work: 91 Rocks

From: Pokemon Tower, Lavender Town | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted July 01, 2003 06:08 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
It says trade, so no, you would still have the card in your hand since you couldn't complete the trade.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Chrisbo

Member # 9



posted July 01, 2003 06:32 PM      Profile for Chrisbo   Email Chrisbo    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
But you would have to show your opponent that you have no Pokemon left in your deck, and then you would have to shuffle it afterwards.

Just clarifying,
- CHRISBO

--------------------
-- Moderator, Wizards' PokéGym (aka "WizPoG")
-- Head Judge (11-14), West Stadium Challenge, 2002
-- Tournament Judge, World Championships 2002
-- Tournament Judge, Super Trainer Showdown 2001 (East & West)
-- Founding member of Team Compendium.

From: Orange County, CA | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted July 01, 2003 06:48 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Really? I thought it was just assumed you were telling the truth and you didn't have to prove it. Then again, I am only human.

Mewtwo: That's debateable.

See if I take you to GenCon. Anyway, that is correct though that you'd still have to shuffle your deck.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Taichi
Member
Member # 13564



posted July 01, 2003 08:32 PM      Profile for Taichi   Email Taichi    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
If I show my deck to my opponent, then that means I will reveal my deck? That's not fair. [Frown]
From: Toronto, Ont | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged
Porygone3
Member
Member # 73689



posted July 01, 2003 09:06 PM      Profile for Porygone3      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I would assume that you just trade for the pokemon that you put in and the trainer card gets played for nothing. A judge would have to be called to check your deck for no basic so you would not have to reveal your deck to them.
Other then that; when you do get to search your deck just take a mental note of whats in it so you will have an idea of how meny pokemon you have. (Should have your deck memorized anyway..) keeping track of those numbers shouldnt be a problem, check your discard pile and hand and count your pokemon, since you know how meny are in your deck (and you should) you will know if its worth it to waste playing trader. Although I supose if you nead to play it so that Pro Birch draws more cards for you, then go ahead.

--------------------
Erica total 24, thats right, 24.
Dunsprace total 41.
I've gotten 98 on that Machoke at work game. I beat Driving Corasola.
I almost beat the record in Hold Down hip hop. I got 2000 or so in Kinglers day. I got 7 in Rapadash's dash. Butterfree's Flower Power 4700. 123 In Jumping Dodoro. My all foil deck is finished.

"I've got floating engery."
"I've got counter productive Powers."

"One heart can make a diferance."
"Rock the world baby, rock the world."
"Roll out!!"

From: USA | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged
Trakix
Member
Member # 136413



posted July 01, 2003 09:28 PM      Profile for Trakix   Email Trakix    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Actually, the card that you were going to trade with (the one coming from your hand) would go into the deck even though you aren't getting one out. The one that you are trading with doesn't get put into the deck until after you take one out which means that it isn't in the deck to be chosen. Pokemon Trader is god when you're about to deck yourself.

--------------------
Trakix - The Archmage of All

Registered: Apr 2003  |  IP: Logged
WizPog_BDS

Member # 113238



posted July 01, 2003 10:25 PM      Profile for WizPog_BDS   Email WizPog_BDS    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Trakix:
Actually, the card that you were going to trade with (the one coming from your hand) would go into the deck even though you aren't getting one out.

Um, not exactly. If you can't satisfy the requirement of the Trainer card, you can't just use part of it. In this case, if there is nothing to trade, you can't put a card from your hand into your deck. In case you need a reference, here is the ruling from the Compendium:

quote:
Q. I use Pokémon Trader to search for a Pokémon, but there are none left. Do I put the card in anyway? Do I just pretend that I didnt play the card (since its requirements can't be fulfilled) or do I discard Pokémon trader? Would the answer be the same if there were 0 cards in my deck left?

A. The card says to 'trade', if you can't do that don't put the card from your hand into your deck. You could still play the Trainer BUT you would NOT be able to trade so you would NOT put a Pokémon from your hand into your deck. (Nov 16, 2000 WotC Chat, Q142 & Q143)

BDS

[ July 01, 2003, 10:27 PM: Message edited by: WizPog_BDS ]

--------------------
Member of Team Compendium
The source of official WotC rulings for Pokémon TCG

Mod on Pokeschool Rules/Strategy Q & A

From: Oregon | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
NoPoke

Member # 42315


posted July 02, 2003 12:03 AM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
So it goes like this...

Deck has basics and evos..

1) Play trader.
2) Search Deck
3) select a basic, evo, (or baby)
4) show selected card and card from your hand to your opponent.
5) place traded card into your deck and shuffle.
6) selected card goes to your hand.

Deck has nothing to trade for...

A) Play trader
B) Search Deck
C) Find nothing...
D) don't show your opponent your trade card
E) Don't place your trade card into your deck
F) Shuffle

Your opponent can ask for a judge to check that the deck doesn't have any basics evos or babies but your opponent doesn't get to see the deck.

Since there might be some dispute about what to do when there is no suitable card in the deck, try to ensure that your opponent is happy with what you are doing before the shuffle takes place.

Can anyone comment on the following:-

Can you play trader even when you know that there is nothing suitable in your deck. I think you can. Just make sure that it isn't a stalling tactic!

Similarly can you play trader when you don't have a tradable card in your hand...I suspect that you can do this too!

[ July 02, 2003, 12:19 AM: Message edited by: NoPoke ]

--------------------
========================================
'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
Taichi
Member
Member # 13564



posted July 02, 2003 08:14 AM      Profile for Taichi   Email Taichi    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
NoPoke, I have a question about the procedure you posted. You said that you had to choose a pokemon from a deck first then you show the pokemon card from your hand. What if I don't have a pokemon card in my hand the first place? Shouldn't I show my pokemon card from my hand to my opponent first before I start searching?

Same question about eevee's energy evolution, what if my deck has no evolution of eevee?

From: Toronto, Ont | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged
NoPoke

Member # 42315


posted July 02, 2003 08:49 AM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Taichi:
NoPoke, I have a question about the procedure you posted. You said that you had to choose a pokemon from a deck first then you show the pokemon card from your hand. What if I don't have a pokemon card in my hand the first place? Shouldn't I show my pokemon card from my hand to my opponent first before I start searching?

Same question about eevee's energy evolution, what if my deck has no evolution of eevee?

well I did post a question about using trader when you know that you cannot trade. I'm waiting for other opinions.

I believe that you show BOTH cards to your opponent at the same time. If you can't show BOTH then you show NEITHER.

yes you can use eevee's power even when you know that there is nothing in your deck but you had better have a VERYVERY GOOD REASON or you WILLbe called for stalling.

--------------------
========================================
'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
WizPog_BDS

Member # 113238



posted July 03, 2003 12:00 AM      Profile for WizPog_BDS   Email WizPog_BDS    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
If you have no Pokemon in your hand, you cannot meet the conditions to play Pokemon trader, so you could not play it. This is different from searching your deck and finding no Pokemon, since you obviously know there is nothing in your hand prior to playing Pokemon Trader.

BDS

--------------------
Member of Team Compendium
The source of official WotC rulings for Pokémon TCG

Mod on Pokeschool Rules/Strategy Q & A

From: Oregon | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
NoPoke

Member # 42315


posted July 03, 2003 12:47 AM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by WizPog_BDS:
If you have no Pokemon in your hand, you cannot meet the conditions to play Pokemon trader, so you could not play it. This is different from searching your deck and finding no Pokemon, since you obviously know there is nothing in your hand prior to playing Pokemon Trader.

BDS

and presumably the same applies when you KNOW that there is nothing in your deck too? My reasoning for allowing the use of trader as a shuffle was by extrapolation from other cards like the eevee mentioned that allow you to search even when you know it will fail.

(however I am aware that the game is a COLLECTION of rulings so there isn't a requirement for consistancy)

any one else got any thoughts on playing Trader when you don't have a card to trade? ie using trader as a way of examining your deck to establish whats in your prizes.

--------------------
========================================
'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
irwinmalek
Member
Member # 86421



posted July 20, 2003 12:16 PM      Profile for irwinmalek   Email irwinmalek    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Technically, as long as you have a suitable card in your hand, you could play Trader regardless of whether you know you have no Pokémon in your deck.

As long as you don't do it to intentionally stall, then that is technically ok.

Think about it, half of the "benefit" of cards which let you "search your deck" is the "search your deck" part (this applies to other cards, as I know Trader doesn't actually say "search your deck".

--------------------
Play archtypes. If you win and do not play and archtype, then what you play will become an archtype.

Check out www.cardfaqs.com

2002 GenCon UK Pokémon Gym Challenge 11-14 CHAMPION
2002 GenCon UK Pokémon Team Play one 1/2 of CHAMPIONS (London United)
WINNER of 11-14 London Super Battlezone 2003

~Article Writer for Scrye Magazine~

"You're too good"- many of IMC's opponents at the London Super Battlezone 2003...

From: Bucks, England | Registered: Jun 2002  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity