my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » New Flip Ruling

Author Topic: New Flip Ruling

Member # 166

posted October 17, 2002 06:59 PM      Profile for MrGrass   Email MrGrass    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
From the most recent chat:
* MT Mike asked me to announce two [Ed. Note: actually three] more rulings reversals. Dark Pupitar and Discovery Metapod have attacks that have effects that should be tied to the result of the flip. Both effects are tied to the coin flip, regardless of how the card is worded. So, [if] you flip tails, you do NOTHING. Same goes for Blastoise's Jet Stream Poke-POWER. (Oct 17, 2002 WotC Chat, post-Q156)

Does this mean that Yanma's Shockwave also does nothing if you flip tails?

"They possess armor that explodes on impact." He-Man action figure commercial

"This is so good it just has to be fattening." Stewy from The Family Guy

AIM: SpectreX0
Yahoo: Shiny_Psyduck

From: A WOTC Store in Pennsylvania | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged

Member # 825

posted October 17, 2002 07:08 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I'd say that's a pretty safe bet.

Well, I know what the topic of next week's league rules update will be...

Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards


AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Hairy Clefairy

Member # 108416

posted October 17, 2002 08:25 PM      Profile for Hairy Clefairy   Email Hairy Clefairy    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
They had to do this or else Blastoise would be broken (guaranteed ER each turn, 50% remove one from Blasty) - this was something I highlighted to him at GenConUK and he said that they would make sure Blastoise wouldn't work like that at all. Looks as though this was how they've done it, as I brought up the examples of how Dark Pupitar and Yanma worked - the text that says "If (dadada) then (lalala). THEN (tralala)".

So before they allowed the (tralala) regardless. Now, it's conditional on the (dadada) and (lalala) happening first i.e. on the flip.

What a sad state of affairs. Just ban Blasty. [Frown]


Freddy K. within circles - 2 1337 4 U - AIM TEFr3ddyK
UK Challenge Finals 2001 & 2002 Judge
Sweden & Germany STSQ winner 2001
Features writer for Pokémon World magazine - go buy!

Click to visit the website of the UK's National Pokémon Team, Team UK

From: England UK | Pokémon League - Burger King, High St, Slough Sundays 10am-2pm | Registered: Oct 2002  |  IP: Logged

All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | | Privacy Statement

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0