my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Sabrina's Psychic Control + Supporters

   
Author Topic: Sabrina's Psychic Control + Supporters
dkates
Member
Member # 113463



posted April 28, 2003 03:35 PM      Profile for dkates      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Sabrina's Psychic Control reads, "Flip a coin. If heads, choose a Trainer card in your opponent's discard pile that isn't put into play ([examples]). You may use that card as if it were in your hand, if you do everything required in order to play that card (like discarding cards). The card stays in your opponent's discard pile." [emphasis mine]
My question is, if you play this card, flip heads, and have not played a Supporter this turn, can you then use this card to play a Supporter from your opponent's discard pile? Or does the "record-keeping text" of the Supporter make it a card that is put into play, and therefore off limits to this card?

--------------------
Every time I think I can't say anything stupider, I prove myself wrong. Maybe I should just stop thinking.

From: Houston, TX | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted April 28, 2003 04:04 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
FTC:

quote:
Q. Seeing as supporters stay in play when you play them, if my opponent plays Sabrina's Psychic Control, He/She couldn't choose a supporter?
A. You can't use Sabrina's Psychic Control to pull a Supporter out of your opponent's discard pile because the Supporter would have to be put in play. (Sep 19, 2002 WotC Chat, Q430 & Q453)

Except:

quote:
Q. If Chaos Gym is in play, how do we handle using supporters? If I flip tails, does my opponent get a chance to use it or not?
A. Ok, supporters are basically normal Trainer cards with a limit built in (can only play 1 per turn). If you flip tails with Chaos Gym (after playing a supporter), your opponent can choose to use it if they want. That supporter would get placed down on the table as normal (near their active) and then would be discarded as normal at the end of your turn. Since YOU did not succesfully play a Supporter, you could try to play another one. This is just like Professor Elm and Chaos Gym in this sense. If you try a second one and it fails again your opponent could NOT use this second one as they are only allowed to use 1 per turn. Same as for Professor Elm. The only tricky part is that you need to remember to discard that supporter back into YOUR discard pile at the end of your turn. (Oct 10, 2002 WotC Chat, Q115)Q. If Chaos Gym is in play, how do we handle using supporters? If I flip tails, does my opponent get a chance to use it or not?
A. Ok, supporters are basically normal Trainer cards with a limit built in (can only play 1 per turn). If you flip tails with Chaos Gym (after playing a supporter), your opponent can choose to use it if they want. That supporter would get placed down on the table as normal (near their active) and then would be discarded as normal at the end of your turn. Since YOU did not succesfully play a Supporter, you could try to play another one. This is just like Professor Elm and Chaos Gym in this sense. If you try a second one and it fails again your opponent could NOT use this second one as they are only allowed to use 1 per turn. Same as for Professor Elm. The only tricky part is that you need to remember to discard that supporter back into YOUR discard pile at the end of your turn. (Oct 10, 2002 WotC Chat, Q115)

This seems to suggest that trainers are not, in fact, put into play-and they aren't. The card is just there as a reminder that you can't play another one. So, you can SPC a supporter.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
dkates
Member
Member # 113463



posted April 28, 2003 04:42 PM      Profile for dkates      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Can you say evil? [Devilish] Of course, it stands to reason that SPC'ing a Supporter would still use up your Supporter for the turn, but still. [Dropjaw] [Devilish] [Wink]

--------------------
Every time I think I can't say anything stupider, I prove myself wrong. Maybe I should just stop thinking.

From: Houston, TX | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
The Dark Llama
Member
Member # 75434



posted April 28, 2003 08:11 PM      Profile for The Dark Llama   Email The Dark Llama    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Wait! - A while back a MT ruled that Supporters don't actually get put into play, rather they just go next to your Active Poke.

--------------------
Best Decks
Kurai Tsuki no Kokoro
Dark Ampharos/Dark Espeon
31-7

Kage Ha!
Dark Scizor
8-0

Elm, Oak, Cleffa and Copycat are archetypes.

YGO Deck:
Yukai na Shi ni yotte Ryu
Pleasant Death by way of Dragon
25-8

My have/want list

One Sentence Add-On!

From: San Diego | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged
dkates
Member
Member # 113463



posted April 28, 2003 08:56 PM      Profile for dkates      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Yeah, that's what Yoshi1001 said. He said that you can SPC a Supporter, which means they're not put into play. Basically, if I understand this, the only cards you can't SPC are the "Pseudo-Pokes", Stadiums, Pokemon Tools, and the predecessors to Pokemon Tools, such as Defender and Plus Power.

[ April 28, 2003, 08:57 PM: Message edited by: dkates ]

--------------------
Every time I think I can't say anything stupider, I prove myself wrong. Maybe I should just stop thinking.

From: Houston, TX | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity