my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Another Dreaded Clefable Question

   
Author Topic: Another Dreaded Clefable Question
GengarHunter
Member
Member # 119482



posted December 19, 2002 02:55 PM      Profile for GengarHunter      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Here's another situation I found which I can't quite resolve. I hope someone here can shed some light on it.

Setup:
Player 1's active is a Clefable (Jungle) with 1 energy attached using Metronome. Metronome is copying Player 2's Alakazam (Ecard) attack of Syncroblast.

Clefable
(C) Metronome Choose 1 of the defending Pokemon's attacks. Metronome copies that attack except for its Energy costs and anything else required in order to use that attack, such as discarding Energy cards. (No matter what type the Defending Pokemon is, Clefable's type is still colorless)

Alakazam
Alakazam's Syncroblast(requires 2 psychic and 1 colorless) basically says if you have the same amount of energy cards attached as the defending pokemon, base damage is 80, otherwise its 20. (dont have the card handy for this one)

Question:
In this case, which pokemon are used as a basis for the energy comparison? Do you check Player 2's active versus the Clefable? The Alakazam against itself? This would effect the damage, because if there was no check needed for Energy as the card seems to state, then for 1 colorless, Clefable is going to slaughter Alakazam.

GengarHunter [Devilish]

--------------------
GengarHunter

Registered: Dec 2002  |  IP: Logged
WizPog_BDS

Member # 113238



posted December 19, 2002 04:09 PM      Profile for WizPog_BDS   Email WizPog_BDS    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Clefable is able to copy and use the attack from Alakazam, and the cost to use it is one Colorless Energy. The attack still works the same way though. Having the same amount of energy is not an attack cost that can be ignored. As long as the amount of energy on the Clefable is the same as the amount of energy on the Alakazam, the attack will do 80, but if the amounts of energy are different, then the attack will do 20. It would be good if you could catch the Alakazam with only one energy on it!!!

BDS

--------------------
Member of Team Compendium
The source of official WotC rulings for Pokémon TCG

Mod on Pokeschool Rules/Strategy Q & A

From: Oregon | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted December 19, 2002 06:31 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
For your information, this is commonly referred to as the self-referencing rule. You replace all references to the original Pokémon with Clefable in the attack wording.
From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
GengarHunter
Member
Member # 119482



posted December 20, 2002 03:31 PM      Profile for GengarHunter      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Thanks for the info. Combo-ing this with a Gust of Wind to get that Alakazam out in the open before it is ready seems like a decent option now.

--------------------
GengarHunter

Registered: Dec 2002  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity