my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Dark Ivysaur Fury Strikes and Mr Mime

Author Topic: Dark Ivysaur Fury Strikes and Mr Mime

Member # 21730

posted July 19, 2003 07:09 PM      Profile for Pokeplayer   Email Pokeplayer    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Hello all....

I was a judge at a tournament today and I made the following ruling.....

One player has Mr Mime on the bench with a different pokemon active, the other player has Best Promo No. 6 Dark Ivysaur attacking using it's Fury Strikes attack. Dark Ivysaur attacks.

The Fury Strikes attack says:

"Your opponent puts three markers onto his or Pokemon (divided as he or she chooses). More than 1 marker can be put on the same Pokemon.) Then, this attack does 10 damage to each Pokemon for each marker on it. Don't apply Weakness and Resistance. Remove the markers at the end of the turn."

The defending player places three markers on Mr Mime. The three markers turn into 30 damage and hence the damage is blocked by Mr Mimes Pokemon Power.

I ruled that this was correct because the attack says to do damage and not place damage counters.

What do you all think??? Was I correct or am I all wet???


Member of the best Pokemon Leagues in the Greater Seattle
Washington area.....Wizards of the Coast Stores at Seatac Mall, South Center Mall and South Hill Mall

From: Kent, WA USA | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged

Member # 825

posted July 19, 2003 07:29 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Looks like you got it right. Looks okay to me for the reasons you stated.

Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards


AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged

Member # 113762

posted July 19, 2003 08:24 PM      Profile for WizPoG_Pop   Email WizPoG_Pop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Yep. Good defense, there!
Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged

Member # 342

posted July 20, 2003 03:42 PM      Profile for Articjedi   Email Articjedi    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
looks fine to me.

Thank you WOTC for a wonderful pokemon journey.

From: Seattle, Washington | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Member # 134971

posted July 21, 2003 05:14 PM      Profile for Arthas_Zero      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
From the Mr. Mime card
Pokemon Power: Invisible Wall Whenever an attack (including your own) does 30 or more damage to Mr. Mime (after applying weakness and Resistance), prevent that damage. (Any other effects of attacks still happen.) This power can't be used if Mr. Mime is Asleep, Confused, or Paralyzed.

Well, from the evidence we have here, it seems that you did make the correct ruling.
From: Earth | Registered: Apr 2003  |  IP: Logged

All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | | Privacy Statement

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0