my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Question about Town Volunteers

   
Author Topic: Question about Town Volunteers
SteveP

Member # 14743


posted February 02, 2003 12:51 PM      Profile for SteveP   Email SteveP    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
The Aquapolis Town Volunteers reads:

quote:
Take 5 Baby Pokemon, Basic Pokemon, Evolution, and/or basic Energy cards from your discard pile and then show them to your opponent. Shuffle them into your deck.
So, can I take less than 5 if I don't have at least 5?

BTW, the Japanese version of this card (according to Usagi-chan) reads:

quote:
Choose up to 5 Pokémon cards and/or basic Energy cards from your discard pile. Show them to your opponent and shuffle them into your deck.


--------------------
Proud member of Team PokéParents - we play Pokémon with our kids!

From: Colorado Springs, CO, USA | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted February 02, 2003 12:56 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I'd ask at chat, seeing as how a choice is implied by the translation. Offhand I'd make you shuffle in as many as you could for now.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Big Daddy Snorlax

Member # 11



posted February 02, 2003 01:30 PM      Profile for Big Daddy Snorlax   Email Big Daddy Snorlax    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Direct from the Chat, courtesy of the Compendium:

quote:
== TOWN VOLUNTEERS (Aquapolis Expansion)

Q. Do you HAVE to pick out exactly 5 cards for Town Volunteers, or can it be UP to 5 or nothing at all?

A. Yup, it works like Time Capsule did. If you have 5 you MUST choose 5, if you have less than 5 you can still play it and choose all of what you do have. You can't CHOOSE to pull less than 5 if you have that many. (Jan 30, 2003 WotC Chat, Q743 & Q774)

BDS

--------------------
Member of Team Compendium
The source of official WotC rulings for Pokémon TCG

Mod on Pokeschool Rules/Strategy Q & A

From: Oregon | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
SteveP

Member # 14743


posted February 02, 2003 01:45 PM      Profile for SteveP   Email SteveP    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Thanks BDS.

So, it's different than the Japanese version. Personally, I think they should make it "up to 5..." instead of confusing us with the "just like Time Capsule" ruling. JMO.

--------------------
Proud member of Team PokéParents - we play Pokémon with our kids!

From: Colorado Springs, CO, USA | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity