my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Boost Energy (The good and the bad effect) (Page 3)

 
This thread has multiple pages: 1  2  3 
 
Author Topic: Boost Energy (The good and the bad effect)
Dragon_Master
Member
Member # 64149



posted January 30, 2003 09:27 AM      Profile for Dragon_Master   Email Dragon_Master    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I use it on Expedition Tyranitar! That energy boost for one turn with Dark Aura can OHKO a chansey!

--------------------
ERROR 404 : Page Not Found
The page or file you are looking for does not exist on this server.

From: Unknown | Registered: Feb 2002  |  IP: Logged
Meganium45

Member # 99835



posted January 30, 2003 09:43 AM      Profile for Meganium45   Email Meganium45    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Nice to see how those geniuses reviewing cards at Pojo gave this card absolutely no respect.

There are all sorts of ways that this can be abused.

In unlimited, I heard of a Wigglytuff using comp search for Boost and then 60!

As for modified, not only is Light Dragonite present, but all sorts of other great triple colorless attacks come to mind (Pidgeot, the AQ TTAR, and many more)

Man, this card had better be changed, or this will be the new ditto for rulings!

But what do I know, ask SteveP

Meganium 45

--------------------
"To Make a Difference, you have to be Different"

Winner and parent of 6 year old winner (Little Duck) of Colinsville SBZ!
Other son was the 9 year old winner May SBZ at Dragon King, the best place to play Pokemon in the Midwest!

NOW 3 TROPHIES!!!
THE MASTER PROFESSOR IN ST. LOUIS and TO too! Yipee!

Gotta love St. Louis 8th, 9th and 10th and the Origins Professor Championship! (I was 9th :( )

Too bad we never have room for our bench - - lol.

From: St. Louis, Missouri | Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged
CmonIWanaPLaYa
Member
Member # 101319



posted January 30, 2003 09:56 AM      Profile for CmonIWanaPLaYa      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
NoPoke---you only have to discard it if you knock out L.Dragonite the same turn you attached it. If you attach it with L. Dragonite in the active role (Defending Pokemon), and don't knock out
L. Dragonite then you don't have to discard it at all by the previous ruling earlier in this thread.
L. Dragonit is Active Defending no damage, you have active TTar (E). Attach Boost energy. L. Dragonite turns off the text and makes it 3 Colorless, then the Dark Aura makes it 3 Darkness and L.D. doesn't get KOed after the attack. Resolve all effects and your turn is over. Boost stays on TTar. and now does not get discarded according to the ruling. Boost has the same effect whomever it is attached to if the L.D. does not leave play at the end of your turn. Someone correct me if I am wrong, but this is how I interpretted it.

--------------------
Either, you Pokemon Yes, or you Pokemon no. If you Pokemon Guess So, sooner later, "squish" justa like bug Pokemon!!

Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged
NoPoke

Member # 42315


posted January 30, 2003 01:23 PM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Cmon...: Thats how I interpret the card too [Smile]

also if you attach Boost to T'tar and then lay down a lt dragonite that works too. Now if only there was a way to move the boost energy around...

thinks porygon2 then energy trans anyone?

--------------------
========================================
'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
CmonIWanaPLaYa
Member
Member # 101319



posted January 30, 2003 01:40 PM      Profile for CmonIWanaPLaYa      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I was thinking the same way....Scary!!!! [ROFL]

But will that work....hmmm..pulls out P2 while staring at Venu and Boost.... [Big Grin]

Meee likey!!

--------------------
Either, you Pokemon Yes, or you Pokemon no. If you Pokemon Guess So, sooner later, "squish" justa like bug Pokemon!!

Registered: Aug 2002  |  IP: Logged
Raymond Lalic
Member
Member # 115882



posted January 30, 2003 02:35 PM      Profile for Raymond Lalic   Email Raymond Lalic    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I agree with Meganium45 [Smile]
Boost energy can change the strategy of your. Especially surprising any opponent with it. Primarily for one attack KO damage. [Wink]

--------------------
r.g.lalic

From: Manila, Philippines | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
NoPoke

Member # 42315


posted January 30, 2003 05:10 PM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Don't think that the Porygon2 trick works... but I think I have got one that does [Bounce]

--------------------
========================================
'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
Tahna

Member # 2850



posted January 31, 2003 12:16 AM      Profile for Tahna      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Nopoke, Porygon2 (at least the Revelation version) states: "Basic Energy Cards", so no go for Boost energy.
And besides, TTar's PokéPower would override the instantaneous effect of Porygon2's.

--------------------
"Well," said the unicorn, "now that we have seen each other. If you believe in me, I'll believe in you."

In shadows we stand, the last of our race.

From: the most tolerant place on earth, the cemetery | Registered: Mar 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time
This thread has multiple pages: 1  2  3 
 
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity