my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Harvest Bounty meets Crystal Type

   
Author Topic: Harvest Bounty meets Crystal Type
Orange Soda
Member
Member # 19838


posted January 31, 2003 02:18 PM      Profile for Orange Soda   Email Orange Soda    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
So I have a Crystal Type Pokemon in the Active position, say Nidoking. I also have Harvest Bounty Venusaur on the bench.

The Poke-Body says that it becomes the type of the Energy card attached to it until the end of the turn. What if I use Harvest Bounty to attach a Grass energy and a Lightning energy to Nidoking? Is it's type Grass, Lightning, or both? (Naturally, same question for all other combinations of Energy on a Crystal Type Pokemon.)

I've been wondering this the past few days, and couldn't figure it out on my own. Didn't see anything in the Chat transcripts for the past few weeks, and nothing in the Compendium.

--------------------
I'm crushed. The fans are crushed. Orange Soda is Crushed Orange Soda!~Gengar

Orange Soda Online

From: University of Missouri-Rolla | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged
Maverick Hunter Zero

Member # 6223



posted January 31, 2003 03:57 PM      Profile for Maverick Hunter Zero   Email Maverick Hunter Zero    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I would think that you would make it the type of the last energy attached... that seems most logical. But then, this game and logic...

--------------------
http://www.mhzs-lair.com
AIM: MasterHunterZero
zero@mhzs-lair.com
http://mhz.deviantart.com

It's not cowardly to run.
It's futile.

kachu Pika piii Kaa pi pikachu?

From: The strange, frightening world known as "SoCali" | Registered: Mar 2001  |  IP: Logged
Orange Soda
Member
Member # 19838


posted January 31, 2003 04:05 PM      Profile for Orange Soda   Email Orange Soda    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Maverick Hunter Zero:
the type of the last energy attached...

Aren't they considered attached at the same time?

--------------------
I'm crushed. The fans are crushed. Orange Soda is Crushed Orange Soda!~Gengar

Orange Soda Online

From: University of Missouri-Rolla | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged
The Dark Llama
Member
Member # 75434



posted January 31, 2003 05:22 PM      Profile for The Dark Llama   Email The Dark Llama    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
No - Harvest Bounty says: "When you attach an energy as part of your turn, you may then attach a second Energy to that Pokémon."

That means that they ARE NOT attached the same time, one is attached... then the second one.

I'd assume that it would become to first type, as it is the Energy that sets its type first, since "Nidoking is that type (color) until the end of your turn" so depending on the first energy, Nidoking would go with that type.

--------------------
Best Decks
Kurai Tsuki no Kokoro
Dark Ampharos/Dark Espeon
31-7

Kage Ha!
Dark Scizor
8-0

Elm, Oak, Cleffa and Copycat are archetypes.

YGO Deck:
Yukai na Shi ni yotte Ryu
Pleasant Death by way of Dragon
25-8

My have/want list

One Sentence Add-On!

From: San Diego | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged
Orange Soda
Member
Member # 19838


posted January 31, 2003 07:15 PM      Profile for Orange Soda   Email Orange Soda    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by The Dark Llama:
No - Harvest Bounty says: "When you attach an energy as part of your turn, you may then attach a second Energy to that Pokémon."

I'm looking at my Harvest Bounty Venusaur right now. It says "at the same time".

--------------------
I'm crushed. The fans are crushed. Orange Soda is Crushed Orange Soda!~Gengar

Orange Soda Online

From: University of Missouri-Rolla | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged
DOMCGI

Member # 20344



posted February 02, 2003 07:26 PM      Profile for DOMCGI      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
In the text of the Harvest Bountry, it say "at the same time".

But the current rule is: the 2 Energy Cards are actually attach 1 follow the other, even it say "at the same time".

You have to resolve all the effect from the first Energy Card before attach the second card.

If the first Energy Card cause KO (e.g. Rainbow), the second Energy card will follow to the discard pile.

Back to the original question, I will vote to the type of the second Energy card on Crystal Pokemon.

For "Trigger" power, the later one will always override the first one.

--------------------
An Old Pokemon Trading Card Game Player.

Pokemon Professor: Score of 40/50

From: Toronto, Canada | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity