my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Si Mew combo(how's it work, is it leagal?)

   
Author Topic: Si Mew combo(how's it work, is it leagal?)
Ferocious Mewtwo Man
Member
Member # 89568



posted November 10, 2002 02:39 PM      Profile for Ferocious Mewtwo Man   Email Ferocious Mewtwo Man    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Okay, here's the scoop:

1) I play Southern islands Mew.
2) I attach a psychic energy
*next turn*
3) I attach a rainbow energy to it
4) I send the mew out and attack.

Heres some questions

1) What happens?
2) Do I hurt all of my opponent's pokemon of a type of MY choice?
3) Is this combo a feasable idea?

--------------------
My fave pokemon:Mewtwo
My best deck: Tuff, You be beaten up!
My Fave deck: Ferocious Mewtwo Deck
Standing in local league: The TOP
Why give this information: Nothing better to do.
Interact with me though msn:psyfire131@hotmail.com
"Getting to the top is one thing, but has anyone seen the way back down"--Me fustrated that no one will play Pokémon with me because I win 99.99% of the time.

From: NS, Canada | Registered: Jun 2002  |  IP: Logged
MrGrass

Member # 166



posted November 10, 2002 07:20 PM      Profile for MrGrass   Email MrGrass    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
When you attack you choose any type and do the damage to all of your opponent's pokemon of that type.
The combo is not very feasible since SI Mew has so little HP. A good idea would be to have that in a deck with Sabrina's Alakazam. The Psylink power let's Kazam use Mew's attack and it has a lot more staying power than Mew.

--------------------
"They possess armor that explodes on impact." He-Man action figure commercial

"This is so good it just has to be fattening." Stewy from The Family Guy

AIM: SpectreX0
Yahoo: Shiny_Psyduck

From: A WOTC Store in Pennsylvania | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Otaku

Member # 42359



posted November 11, 2002 08:38 AM      Profile for Otaku   Email Otaku    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Note, its been ruled (last I checked) that you just need the Rainbow Energy. It can only provide one energy type at a time for the purpose of paying for attacks and the like, but it counts as all types all the time.

Here is what the Compendium (http://pkcompendium.hypermart.net/compendium.shtml)says:
quote:
[QB]== RAINBOW WAVE (Mew - Southern Islands Expansion)

Q. If I put a Rainbow Energy on Southern Islands Mew, can I hit every non-colorless Pokemon on the opponent's side or do I have to pick a single color only? Can the Rainbow be treated as "all colors" in this instance?
A. Nope, you must choose an ENERGY type meaning fire, water, darkness, etc. NOT an ENERGY CARD type like Rainbow. You have to choose one energy type to do damage to. (Aug 9, 2001 WotC Chat, Q234)

Q. If I have a SI Mew with Rainbow Energy attached, can I pick Dark or Steel as a type?
A. Yes. (Aug 9, 2001 WotC Chat, Q264)

Q. If I just have a Rainbow Energy on Southern Islands Mew, will that pay for both the P attack cost and also allow me to choose another color of Pokemon to do the damage to?
A. Yes. But you only do damage to one type of Pokemon. Rainbow counts as all types but only provides one energy. You choose what type of Pokemon you want to do damage to when you use this attack with Rainbow Energy attached. (Aug 9, 2001 WotC Chat, Q233 & Q286 & Q345)

[QB]

[ November 11, 2002, 08:43 AM: Message edited by: Otaku ]

--------------------
Imakuni Rules!

You can reach me at Otakutron on AIM and nihon_game_otaku on Yahoo Messenger.

From: Iowa | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted November 11, 2002 08:43 AM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
== RAINBOW WAVE (Mew - Southern Islands Expansion)

Q. If I put a Rainbow Energy on Southern Islands Mew, can I hit every non-colorless Pokemon on the opponent's side or do I have to pick a single color only? Can the Rainbow be treated as "all colors" in this instance?
A. Nope, you must choose an ENERGY type meaning fire, water, darkness, etc. NOT an ENERGY CARD type like Rainbow. You have to choose one energy type to do damage to. (Aug 9, 2001 WotC Chat, Q234)

Q. If I have a SI Mew with Rainbow Energy attached, can I pick Dark or Steel as a type?
A. Yes. (Aug 9, 2001 WotC Chat, Q264)

Q. If I just have a Rainbow Energy on Southern Islands Mew, will that pay for both the P attack cost and also allow me to choose another color of Pokemon to do the damage to?
A. Yes. But you only do damage to one type of Pokemon. Rainbow counts as all types but only provides one energy. You choose what type of Pokemon you want to do damage to when you use this attack with Rainbow Energy attached. (Aug 9, 2001 WotC Chat, Q233 & Q286 & Q345)

So, yes, it all works out.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
bulbasnore

Member # 703


posted November 13, 2002 10:54 PM      Profile for bulbasnore      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I'm trying out SI Mew as mop in a D Gengar/Slowking deck.

While you are doing pull in (30/double sleep) to someone's big attacker with D. Gengar, they are preparing another big attacker, usually of the same color, on the bench. The expectation is that as soon as you KO the active, they'll OHKO you when the bench is promoted.

Instead you don't KO the active, you get him down to 10 or 20 (use Darkness E on DG to adjust the damage), then start using pull in on the guy on the bench. Now when you have all the dangers within 20 of KO, drop SI Mew & the rainbow. Now KO both big hitters at once with Rainbow Wave against their color. They might KO SI Mew in return, but you've got DG there ready to start all over.

I've just started checking this out, but I've pulled it off once, and its really cool. Once you get the hitters, you can start up with the babies; leave them alone 'til then.

--------------------
Pokemon TCG is a game for all ages.
6th Place June 2002 WCSC Professor Draft
6th Place July 2003 Comic Con Fan Appreciation Tourney

From: Where you play a kid's game and never T8 in it! | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
mercad
Member
Member # 22435



posted November 14, 2002 05:51 PM      Profile for mercad   Email mercad    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
yup i play SI mew in my dk gengar too

--------------------
Team Delibird Co-Leader

"Don't be touching your little delibird"

Buk Buk

Merc: Gengar dont make me pull out the big guns
DMTM: NO! don't he's my friend
Gengar: GENGAR!
Merc: Ok! Go DELIBIRD!
Delibird: Deli... Delibird
Merc: Delibird use present!
Delibird: DELI!
Gengar: ?_?
Gengar: GENGAR!
DMTM: Looks like were blasting off again

From: Rancho Cucamunga, California, United States | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity