my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Mind games/Chaos gym whats first?

   
Author Topic: Mind games/Chaos gym whats first?
UmbreonKing
Member
Member # 146378



posted July 06, 2003 02:17 AM      Profile for UmbreonKing   Email UmbreonKing    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
If my opponent played Chaos gym and then I got out Slowking and they tried to play a trainer which would come first? Also,if I got tails on Choas gym would I flip for them to use my trainer?

Thanks to anyone who can help.

--------------------
Umbreon is actually white you just have to give it a bath!!

I'm hungary I need food!!!!!!

#24 Umbreon

From: Modesto CA | Registered: Jul 2003  |  IP: Logged
dkates
Member
Member # 113463



posted July 06, 2003 08:57 AM      Profile for dkates      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I think that the Chaos Gym would come first in this case, since your opponent "controls" it. If it were yours, you could choose the order. Not sure about the answer to the second question, but I don't think so -- it's not coming from your opponent's hand.

--------------------
Every time I think I can't say anything stupider, I prove myself wrong. Maybe I should just stop thinking.

From: Houston, TX | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted July 06, 2003 09:13 AM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
1. Yes, Chaos Gym would flip first since your opponent controls it.

2. From the Compendium:

quote:
Q. Please elaborate on the interaction if I have Slowking's "Mind Games" on my bench, but I flip tails when attempting to play a trainer under Chaos Gym.
A. So, if I have Slowking out and there is a Chaos Gym, I attempt to play a trainer and flip tails. NOW my opponent can attempt to play that trainer (as long as it isn't a Tool or Stadium of course). I can now choose to use my Mind Games to make my opponent flip a coin for the trainer they are attempting to play. On heads, the trainer fails and goes back onto the OWNER's deck (this is an errata change to the text on Mind Games). (Nov 14, 2002 WotC Chat, Q67)



[ July 06, 2003, 09:17 AM: Message edited by: yoshi1001 ]

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
NoPoke

Member # 42315


posted July 06, 2003 09:49 AM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I guess I was never really happy with this one....

Chaos gym...

I try to play a card and flip tails. My opponent then gets the opportunity to USE the card, provided they can meet all the other requirements on the card.

Now even if I have Slowkings' MindGames in play, I still think that my opponent should get to USE the card. The opponent is not PLAYING THE CARD they are USING IT. They still have to fulfill any requirements in order to play the card. But they aren't taking the card from their hand and PLAYING it.

With both a Chaos Gym and an opponents MindGames power in effect. Then the opponent gets to choose which goes first. If the opponent chooses the Chaos Gym effect first then his Mind Games will not subsequently trigger.

--------------------
========================================
'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
ShadowCard

Member # 2104



posted July 07, 2003 09:11 AM      Profile for ShadowCard      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
I guess I was never really happy with this one....
If/When Nintendo establishes their chat dates for questions, you can ask them if they'll consider changing the ruling [Big Grin]

--------------------
"And there came a hero who said: Hurt not the earth, nor the sea, nor the trees, nor the very fabric of time, but the hero would not prevail...nor would he surrender."

Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity