my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Smeargle (sketch) conflicting rulings

   
Author Topic: Smeargle (sketch) conflicting rulings
annisarich

Member # 105838



posted January 03, 2003 01:12 PM      Profile for annisarich   Email annisarich    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Here is the situation.

I used Smeargle's Sketch attack on a confused pokemon that last turn flipped tails and took 20 damage for confusion. It was ruled on the floor that I couldnt use the attack the confused pokemon attempted but I could use Sketch to attack myself for 20 damage. I chose not to attack. pay retreat costs and bring up a baby card [Wink]

I plan on playing this deck again in the next few weeks and want to clear up what I think is a conflict of interpitations.

Here are comments from a chat yesterday .
Question asked by LizzardOTC. (who runs a smooth tourney )From yesterdays chat:

=============================
darkmt_mike presents the speaker with question #317 from lizardotc: If a confused Pokémon attempts to attack and flips tails, does that mean that an opposing Smeargle would have nothing to sketch, since the attack did not actually occur?
darkmt_mike says, "Yes. Correct!"

===============================

Next is the ruling that I found on the compendioum site, (which led me to try and use Smeargle in my deck)

================================
Q. A confused pokemon attempts to attack a Smeargle and fails; what happens if Smeargle uses Sketch? Would it be able to attack itself for 20?
A. Sketch will copy the attack that the Confused Pokemon attempted. It does not attack itself as if it was Confused. (May 23, 2002 WotC Chat, Q276)

=================================

The first ruling from last night I think is incorrect. As the rulebook v8 reads:
" When you attack with a confused pokemon you flip a coin. On heads the attack works normally, but on tails your pokemon attacks itself with an attack that does 20 damage"
therefore the comments from last evening would be incorrect because confused does not create a situation where the attack never happened as stated in the question to the host.

Also If I am wrong about this I will have to remove the sheep and put in some smoochems. That will make someone I know very unhappy

BTW when are the chats Times? and timezone please also.

--------------------
Rich

From: A2 MI | Registered: Sep 2002  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted January 03, 2003 01:49 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
6 PM eastern 5 central 4 mountain 3 pacific on thursday.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Raikou1234
Member
Member # 3003



posted January 03, 2003 06:04 PM      Profile for Raikou1234      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
It's at 3 over here.. and DMTM posted on it, he made a mistake =)

--------------------
Team Format Winner at Origins with SuperSpaceGuy!
Go Team Rabid Tyrouge & SSG!
IM me at RabidRogueKid for a Game of Apprentice

From: Somewhere | Registered: Mar 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity