my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Rule of Crystal Energy on Crystal Pokemon

   
Author Topic: Rule of Crystal Energy on Crystal Pokemon
DOMCGI

Member # 20344



posted February 02, 2003 08:07 PM      Profile for DOMCGI      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
On the 2003/01/30 Chat:

Q. What happens when a Crystal or Rainbow Energy is attached to a Crystal Pokemon. The Crystal Pokemon have a Pokemon Power that says when you attach certain colors of energy to that Pokemon, then the Crystal Pokemon Becomes the same type as that energy until the end of the turn.
A. You would choose when you attach it (if there was other Energies attached) if not than you wouldn't get to choose, it just provides colorless. (Jan 30, 2003 WotC Chat, Q758)

I do not agree with the above rule. The text of the "Crystal Type" power say "Basic Energy Card". Crystal and Rainbow are always Special Energy card, so it should not change the type of the Crystal Pokemon.

[Edit: Full text of the Lugia Crystal Pokemon's power.
Whenever you attach a Fire, Water, or Psychic basic Energy card from your hand to Lugia, Lugia's type (color) becomes the same as that Energy card type until the end of the turn.]

[ February 02, 2003, 08:13 PM: Message edited by: DOMCGI ]

--------------------
An Old Pokemon Trading Card Game Player.

Pokemon Professor: Score of 40/50

From: Toronto, Canada | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged
SteveP

Member # 14743


posted February 02, 2003 08:54 PM      Profile for SteveP   Email SteveP    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I'd agree with you DOMCGI. This ruling appears to be a boo-boo.

After looking at the Usagi-chan translation of Crystal Type, I'm not sure if Crystal Energy can change Crystal Pokemon into a type. Personally, I'd probably rule that it could (in harmony with the current WOTC ruling). FYI, here's that translation for Crystal Golem:

quote:
When you attach a (G) Energy card, a (R) Energy card, or a (F) Energy card to Golem from your hand, Golem’s type becomes the same type as that Energy card for the rest of the turn.


[ February 02, 2003, 09:02 PM: Message edited by: SteveP ]

--------------------
Proud member of Team PokéParents - we play Pokémon with our kids!

From: Colorado Springs, CO, USA | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged
Big Daddy Snorlax

Member # 11



posted February 02, 2003 09:51 PM      Profile for Big Daddy Snorlax   Email Big Daddy Snorlax    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
First off, whoever answered that question missed the point of the question. The answer refers to whether the Crystal Energy would provide a certain type, not whether the Crystal Pokemon would be turned into a certain type. However, the wording of the Power is "when you attach a basic energy card from your hand...". Rainbow and Crystal are special energy cards, and in your hand they don't even provide basic types (they have to be in play to do that). Therefore, I don't think you can attach a Rainbow Energy, say that it is Psychic, and thereby turn the Crystal Pokemon into a Psychic type for that turn.

BDS

--------------------
Member of Team Compendium
The source of official WotC rulings for Pokémon TCG

Mod on Pokeschool Rules/Strategy Q & A

From: Oregon | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Big_Pappa_Poke

Member # 3495



posted February 02, 2003 09:56 PM      Profile for Big_Pappa_Poke   Email Big_Pappa_Poke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Right.

There is a difference between a grass (just to use a type) energy card and a card that provides grass energy.

Rainbow, Miracle and Crystal can all provide grass energy, but are not grass energy cards.

--------------------
** The preceding message was brought to you by the nEw WeEzInG oDoR **

Winner - Skyridge SBZ Dayton 15+
Winner (with Nathan "Silent Bob" Spenny) - Origins Team Limited
Evolution - Second in the World in Team Limited
Third - WotC's final Pokemon event (Sunday Modified at GenCon)

Adventure, excitement... a Jedi craves not these things.

Would you like a chocolate covered Pretzel?

From: Portsmouth, OH, USA | Registered: Mar 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity